Symantec SSL Certificate Reviews

Symantec is a public company that offers SSL certificates, and other computer security products. It purchased the security business of VeriSign in 2010. It is currently the largest SSL certificate provider, owning both GeoTrust and Thawte. Its website security and related PKI solutions were acquired by DigiCert Inc in 2017. It is now headquartered in Lehi, Utah, USA.

The Symantec SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Symantec is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Symantec customers.

If you want to compare Symantec SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Symantec, please post a Symantec SSL review to let others know what to expect.

3.36 (42 Total Reviews)

Popular Sites That Use Symantec

Symantec Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 42 | Next | Last

Anna Maria

Anna Maria

Laga iPhone Göteborg SSL by Symantec
July 28, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site with EV
Website: https://lagaiphone.se
Organization: JaPhone AB

Symantec pre-sales and post-sales representatives have provided us with the best of quality in services and recommendations towards the selection, deployment and support for our SSL certificates.
François Thibeaut

François Thibeaut

Merci pour votre retour cordialement François Thibeaut
August 25, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site
Website: Spin palace jeux
Organization: 1972

Je suis arrêté de travailler pour Maladie et vos jeux machines à sous me détend (Cancer (Début merci d'avance cordialement François Thibeault Huawei P10 Mobile
Poor Security Standards

Poor Security Standards

Will grant all certs
April 3, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

they will give you a cert for anything, even google.
Kathryn Wilson

Kathryn Wilson

A name you can trust - but at a cost
April 29, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site Pro

No question it's a brand and name you can trust and so can your customers. For that reason alone we chose verisign / Symantec, despite the price tag being a little excessive. Although pricey, this brand helped build and maintain trust in doing transactions online at a time when people were not sure about online security and privacy (2005-2013). 2015, I still trust this brand but would hope it is more competitively priced.. If it is, definitely worth considering.
Leo

Leo

Nice support
March 24, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site

Your support is awesome.. I got very nice responses from online chat support.. I talked to Jakob; he is very knowledge person, funny and supportive.. Kudos
Rick Nichols

Rick Nichols

Horrible Company
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

Look elsewhere. Symantec is and always was a horrible company with bad products they rush to market before they are ready.
Mark Dale

Mark Dale

Way too expensive for my requirements.
January 25, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

If I were securing a multi million £ transactional site the name of Verisign/Symantec maybe worth a premium. Thier company authentication procedures are I'm sure excellent. However for a wildcard to secure messaging platforms an initial quote of £40k was a bit steep. Sales 'worked hard?' to lower this and we got something around the £8k mark quoted after a day or so. Went elsewhere for 2k.
Mika Salkola

Mika Salkola

Helpful technical support
November 10, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Organization: Thermo Fisher Scientific Oy

Changing the computer after Microsoft Authenticode Code Signing Certificate request caused problems. The representative was not exactly aware about the solution but was very helpful and solved the case efficiently.
Peter

Peter

What a rip off - non-www not included!
August 30, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site

Whilst most other SSL certificate providers will include both the www and non-www domain (even the $5/yr ones), expensive Symantec do NOT. You are forced to buy a VERY expensive wildcard certificate. Symantec/Verisign/Norton NOT recommended. I would however recommend ssls.com for their level of support.
Kahlil

Kahlil

Trusted and reliable
August 7, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site with EV
Website: http://fast.faa.org.my
Organization: Finance Accreditation Agency Berhad

Symantec pre-sales and post-sales representatives have provided us with the best of quality in services and recommendations towards the selection, deployment and support for our SSL certificates.
Marco Veldman

Marco Veldman

Helpful employees
August 6, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Organization: VCTA

I've got several calls from Symantec employees (Ireland and Belgium) explaining de steps I needed to take. This personal approach is something seldom seen at companies. The Symantec staff helped me get the SSL up and running. Excellent! Their was some confusion about the judicial name our company uses and the name of the owner of the website, but that was sorted out within a day thanks to the initiatives of the employees of Symantec. No hassle and waiting from my side, no filling in of service tickets.
John Walker

John Walker

Enterprise Class Customer Service
August 5, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site Pro with EV
Website: https://www.hmbayinc.net
Organization: H&M Bay, Inc.

The salesperson will hand hold you through the entire process. Support can also walk you through the request and install of the certificate. Symantec is good about giving you advance notice when you need to renew and also walking you through that.
Eric Hofer

Eric Hofer

Why so expensive?
July 31, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate

I started shopping around as our current code signing cert is about to run out. I found loads of other, less expensive options - like Comodo. When I asked why Symantec is so much more expensive, I was told, "we're simply the best!" When I asked to explain the specific attributes that lead them to that claim, I couldn't get an answer. Sorry, but for something that just says the code author is who he says he is, I'm lost as to why one spends 4+ smackers.
Alexi L

Alexi L

Your service was excellent, quick and proactive
April 22, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

I have been a long time customer for Symantec. Recently I needed to order a new bacth of certificates. Just like before - Symantec's service was excellent, quick and proactive.
Danil

Danil

Failed to renew the existing certificate
April 14, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate

We have had the code signing certificate from VeriSign for many years. But this year we have failed to renew it with Symantec. Because the Symantec was unable to verify our new organizational contacts. We have provided the fully notarized legal letter, but they are unable to contact the goverment to check the status of the laywer!!! The phone lines are busy (surprisingly). So the overall rating is "The Worst".
Alan Yap

Alan Yap

Simple and Easy..!
January 9, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site

“Everything is so simple. we only need to inform our Account Manager, Mr Bassanio Chow, and he will arrange all the necessary requirement. Making it simple and easy for us..”
Gary T A Connolly

Gary T A Connolly

Simply The Best SSL Company
January 9, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site with EV
Website: https://ims.HGAR.com
Organization: Hudson Gateway Association of REALTORS, Inc.

There is no company I trust more or that is better than Symantec. Period.
ronnie

ronnie

Always adding new features to jack the price up..
January 9, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site with EV

Always adding new features to jack the price up..
Harry Powell

Harry Powell

Happy with Symantec
December 9, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Organization: CNC Consulting Inc.

I have several software products that I have recently signed with an EV Certificate from Symantec. It certainly isn't cheap but the cost is worth it. The installation isn't too daunting, but I did need some coaching from their support staff, and in this I was 100% satisfied. The phone was answered quickly, the person actually listened to me explain my needs, and patiently guided me through the signing process. Now users downloading my demo software don't get those dire warnings of what might happen if they install my products.
Nick

Nick

Knows what they are doing
December 9, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Secure Site

The customer service group and technical group know what they are doing and are willing to help you out in a time of need. If you are not sure how to do something they will have the answer. They make the whole process easy.

Showing review 1 to 20 of 42 | Next | Last