Thawte SSL Certificate Reviews

Thawte is a large certificate authority, owned by Symantec, that sells SSL certificate products. Thawte was established in 1995 (sold to VeriSign in 1999), and is headquartered in Cape Town, South Africa.

The Thawte SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Thawte is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Thawte customers.

If you want to compare Thawte SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Thawte, please post a Thawte SSL review to let others know what to expect.

3.13 (80 Total Reviews)

Popular Sites That Use Thawte

Thawte Reviews

Showing review 1 to 10 of 80 | Next | Last

Denis BUCHER
Denis BUCHER
Very professional, and easy for EV SSL.
July 18, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate with EV
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

We first tried with Comodo, without success, because it was awful, and we had to cancel order because they were unable to validate our company using the official phone book ! On the opposite Thawte was easy, and professional !
Frank
Frank
VERY POOR BUSINESS - UNRESPONSIVE
October 31, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://I cannot Install it.
Organization: TruckingComfort.com

I have had nothing but trouble from Thawte. There is no warning when the certificate expires. And if you need to make a change, you get literally zero help from them. When you do try to update and tell them that the email address changed, they act like they change it, but then continue to send all communication to the old email. At least I assume they do because I do not get anything from them. I updated the SSL for 2 years, then found that our VPS was no longer available, before they issues the certificate. I sent an email to cancel until could get another VPS. No response from Thawte. I did get the SSL, but no response to the cancel request. I sent 2 more request and still no response from this very poor organization with no support. Stay away from them. There are much better places to get your SSL and for less money. Don't buy their hype about a better SSL. There's is no better than anyone else's.
Software Developer
Software Developer
Good bang for the buck
October 11, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.microvb.com
Organization: MicroVB

A well known SSL certficate brand which uses Syamntec timestamp services for ongoing validation of signed applications. Very easy to use.
Patrik-Philipp Huber
Patrik-Philipp Huber
SSL make customers trust
May 19, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.uhren-shop.ch
Organization: Au Bijou Uhren & Schmuck GmbH

Customers trust in SSL. We trust in Thawte
Jennifer Crosby
Jennifer Crosby
Enterprise Account - Never any problems
October 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://careers.fraserhealth.ca/Search-Jobs.aspx
Organization: Fraser Health Authority

I manage a couple dozen certs with Thawte and we've never had any problems. They've been very responsive to questions - always helpful.
Andrew
Andrew
Favorite SSL vendor
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day

I prefer to use Thawte for a number of reasons. Broad compatibility, ease of installation and certificate generation, and price. "Best bang for the buck" if you will. I've never contacted customer support because I've never had to. The certificate portal is incredibly easy to use - simple but powerful.
Corne Lombaard
Corne Lombaard
No support and too difficult to use
February 5, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

In the first place the certificate is not trusted by most browsers. They give you a long set of instructions of how to make it work and at the end it did not function at all. I contacted their support and got told that because I purchased the certificate through a re-seller they are not able to assist me. I will never use Thawte
Mark Dale
Mark Dale
Wildcards; CC payment only
January 25, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Wildcard Certificate
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Advised by sales that wildcard certs are only purchasable with a credit card payment. Not for me, need to be invoiced. Went elsewhere.
Fabio
Fabio
All good
November 10, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.vaccari.it

All proceed well, fast and seamless
David Reed
David Reed
Great customer service
November 10, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://improviseforreal.com

What I most appreciated was that I was able to call and speak to a live person who answered my questions. Even though the purchase itself was done online, it's very important to me to be able to talk to a real person about the inevitable questions that I will sometimes have which are not addressed by the sales materials on the web. So Thawte's great customer service was the reason I chose this company and I've been very happy with them ever since.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 80 | Next | Last