Thawte SSL Certificate Reviews

Thawte is a large certificate authority, owned by Symantec, that sells SSL certificate products. Thawte was established in 1995 (sold to VeriSign in 1999), and is headquartered in Cape Town, South Africa.

The Thawte SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Thawte is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Thawte customers.

If you want to compare Thawte SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Thawte, please post a Thawte SSL review to let others know what to expect.

3.1 (81 Total Reviews)

Thawte Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 81 | Next | Last

SH Systems Administrator
SH Systems Administrator
The Worst Service I've Ever Received
January 10, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate with EV
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

As of the time of this review, we are almost 7 weeks in trying to get an EV certificate from Thawte. We still have not received it because we are still waiting for them to complete the validation process. Timeline: November 24: Order placed November 30: No communication from Thawte. Contacted support via chat to see if there was anything we could do to facilitate the order. Was told no. December 5: Still no response from Thawte, emailed Thawte support to get update. December 6: Thawte emailed to advise they needed us to fill out some paperwork in order to validate me as being a legitimate employee that can order certificates. December 8: Submitted completed paperwork to Thawte requesting it be expedited due to delays. December 13: Thawte finally emails to tell me the paperwork has been submitted to the appropriate team for processing. December 19: After no response, I emailed Thawte again asking for an update. December 21: A coworker contacted Thawte by phone to escalate the order. Was told they would engage for completion of processing the next day. Thawte suggested to coworker as a means of being able to move forward with our project we could opt to buy an SSL123 certificate and use that until the EV could be completed. I recommended against that, stating that purchasing another certificate because of their terrible service was not acceptable. December 22: No response from Thawte processing team. Department whose project needs to move forward decides to purchase SSL123 certificate. December 26: Thawte finally emails back to say that the paperwork is not appropriate for the type of certificate we are ordering (even though they provided said paperwork) and provided me new paperwork. December 28: I emailed asking a question about some specific organization related information that we need to fill out. December 29: Thawte emailed to respond back to my question. We submitted the completed paperwork. January 4: Thawte indicates they need to complete a call to verify my employment. No problem, I provided contact information for our HR department. No call received by end of work day, I emailed them to advise I would be out of office on the 5th. January 5th: They email to advise they would schedule the call for January 8th. It is now January 10th and we have received no call. I am at my wits end trying to get this completed. By far and beyond this is the absolute worst service I have ever had to deal with. I can't even even put into words the sheer amount of anger and frustration there is dealing with this horrible service. I have three times recommended cancelling the order completely and doing business elsewhere, however the powers that be suggest we see it through to completion because of the efforts thus far. If you need SSL certificates, I highly recommend you look elsewhere and avoid Thawte.
Denis BUCHER
Denis BUCHER
Very professional, and easy for EV SSL.
July 18, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate with EV
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

We first tried with Comodo, without success, because it was awful, and we had to cancel order because they were unable to validate our company using the official phone book ! On the opposite Thawte was easy, and professional !
Frank
Frank
VERY POOR BUSINESS - UNRESPONSIVE
October 31, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://I cannot Install it.
Organization: TruckingComfort.com

I have had nothing but trouble from Thawte. There is no warning when the certificate expires. And if you need to make a change, you get literally zero help from them. When you do try to update and tell them that the email address changed, they act like they change it, but then continue to send all communication to the old email. At least I assume they do because I do not get anything from them. I updated the SSL for 2 years, then found that our VPS was no longer available, before they issues the certificate. I sent an email to cancel until could get another VPS. No response from Thawte. I did get the SSL, but no response to the cancel request. I sent 2 more request and still no response from this very poor organization with no support. Stay away from them. There are much better places to get your SSL and for less money. Don't buy their hype about a better SSL. There's is no better than anyone else's.
Software Developer
Software Developer
Good bang for the buck
October 11, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.microvb.com
Organization: MicroVB

A well known SSL certficate brand which uses Syamntec timestamp services for ongoing validation of signed applications. Very easy to use.
Patrik-Philipp Huber
Patrik-Philipp Huber
SSL make customers trust
May 19, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.uhren-shop.ch
Organization: Au Bijou Uhren & Schmuck GmbH

Customers trust in SSL. We trust in Thawte
Jennifer Crosby
Jennifer Crosby
Enterprise Account - Never any problems
October 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://careers.fraserhealth.ca/Search-Jobs.aspx
Organization: Fraser Health Authority

I manage a couple dozen certs with Thawte and we've never had any problems. They've been very responsive to questions - always helpful.
Andrew
Andrew
Favorite SSL vendor
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day

I prefer to use Thawte for a number of reasons. Broad compatibility, ease of installation and certificate generation, and price. "Best bang for the buck" if you will. I've never contacted customer support because I've never had to. The certificate portal is incredibly easy to use - simple but powerful.
Corne Lombaard
Corne Lombaard
No support and too difficult to use
February 5, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

In the first place the certificate is not trusted by most browsers. They give you a long set of instructions of how to make it work and at the end it did not function at all. I contacted their support and got told that because I purchased the certificate through a re-seller they are not able to assist me. I will never use Thawte
Mark Dale
Mark Dale
Wildcards; CC payment only
January 25, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Wildcard Certificate
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Advised by sales that wildcard certs are only purchasable with a credit card payment. Not for me, need to be invoiced. Went elsewhere.
Fabio
Fabio
All good
November 10, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.vaccari.it

All proceed well, fast and seamless
David Reed
David Reed
Great customer service
November 10, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://improviseforreal.com

What I most appreciated was that I was able to call and speak to a live person who answered my questions. Even though the purchase itself was done online, it's very important to me to be able to talk to a real person about the inevitable questions that I will sometimes have which are not addressed by the sales materials on the web. So Thawte's great customer service was the reason I chose this company and I've been very happy with them ever since.
Michael So
Michael So
Easy renewal
November 3, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://www.hl-insurance.com
Organization: hong leong insurance (asia) limited

the renewal process is smooth and the speed of fee refund is acceptable
Sarifah
Sarifah
Easy renewal
October 14, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Organization: Abacus International Pte Ltd

I encountered an error during the order verification and emailed to customer service. I received an email that the certificate was approved within the same day.
Paul Wu
Paul Wu
SSL Renewal - Super Easy
September 11, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SGC SuperCert
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

1. easy to renew the digital cert 2. your representative Jolene Harker is very helpful and help us a lot 3. pricing is competitive
Gary Wells
Gary Wells
Re: Thawte SSL Certificate Reviews
August 6, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL123 Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

We were very nearly late in renewing our license but processing, notifications and receipt of certificates was timeous.. Reminders and Assistance have always been very forthcoming..
DiffEngineX LLC
DiffEngineX LLC
Fast and simple certificate renewal process
August 6, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day
Organization: DiffEngineX LLC

The renewal process was fast and did not involve repeating any of the initial documentation steps.
Nancy Holt
Nancy Holt
Awesome Company
August 6, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate with EV
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://onlinebanking.unionstbank.com
Organization: Union State Bank

Unfortunately our certificate with Network Solutions had expired and it would have taken 10 business days to get it renewed. I placed the order on Friday morning and we had the certificate and had it installed before 5:00 that same day.
David Fenske
David Fenske
Responsive and Professional
August 6, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day

Thawte has been very helpful with my somewhat unusual SSL certificate requests. I've had a number of phone conversations and useful email communications as I worked out what we really needed for our situation. They've also been very accommodating in refunding the balance of replaced certificates as needed.
Anderson Stollmeier
Anderson Stollmeier
Ease to renew
August 5, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

It was very simple and fast to complete the renew process
ItSupport
ItSupport
Easy To Use, Easy To Install.
August 5, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Web Server Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Straight forward transaction, good documentation. The best is the SSL Assistant that configures everything for you, Simples!

Showing review 1 to 20 of 81 | Next | Last