StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.42 (392 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 392 | Next | Last

Matthias Fritz
unique and fantastic service!
July 22, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://mcmf.de

There is no one else who provides similar service. Just one month until expiration what cometition does is NOT acceptable. SSL is great!
Angelo
Awesome for Free SSL
July 18, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://www.axiomsolution.com
Organization: AxiomSolution Inc.

StartCom made Class1 SSL for Free! It's an awesome service. I did not expect any help - unlike other services on web/internet - they send you to their forums or community blogs - but Danny on the chat assisted and helped me, right to the point. A+++++
Nguyen Hoang Tung
Very good!
July 18, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Code Signing
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://tungpc.com

I have start with class 1 free and now. i have buy class 2 and use code signing and wild card ssl. i think, low cost and easy use ... for startCom. for developer very good. quickly verify and need good document!
Kaminaru Fuyu
Now has the cheapest code-signing certificate on the planet.
July 14, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Code Signing
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

At $30 dollars per year for a code-signing certificate, StartSSL Authenticode Object Code Signing certificate has always been the cheapest certificate out there. But it used to have one weakness: timestamping isn't allowed, which means once the certificate expired, the signed setup executable will not be able to be run anymore without unknown publisher warning in Windows. With the new release of the StartSSL website, Class 2 object code signing certificate now supports timestamping, which means that even if the certificate used to sign a setup executable file has expired, the executable will still be able to be run without Windows's unknown publisher warning. Identity verification can be done very quickly now too, and easier than before. Upload some pictures of identifying document, and also a picture of you holding one of them, and the process will be over after an hour. The object code signing certificate cannot sign kernel code though, and that would be its only weakness.
Dan
First Experience with SSL
July 13, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website:
Organization:

If you've never dealt with certificates before it can be a little daunting. Even something like your first renewal processes can be confusing - at best - sometimes. Regardless of whether you have or have not, the certificates have worked great for the need and Startcom has been there for email enquiries and via chat as well when help was required. VERY good to know they're there to help!
Alan
Thorough... but makes sense
July 8, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day

They are very thorough (a good thing). But all I have to say is that the documents they advertise they need will not be the end of it. Expect to give more. But again this is meant to be a security measure so for OV/EV expect to jump through more hoops than other CA's. But the business model and end pay off make the painful validation worth it all.
Markus Pepper
Amazing
July 6, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

This is the greatest ca i've ever seen. it's blowing my mind
Harmeet Sandhu
Absolutely Lovely
July 4, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://www.catwalkwholesale.com/
Organization: Catwalk Wholesale

It has been a pleasure dealing with these guys. Very helpful and the cheapest i have found for Extended validation.
Scott Julian
Easy SSL certificates
June 23, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://www.softwarebyscott.com

I found the whole process of creating an account and being issued a Class 1 Free certificate to be extremely easy and very straight forward.
Marco Borla
Makes SSL easy and free
June 13, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://www.marcoborla.it
Organization: Marco Borla

This is a great free SSL solution. Now they also create a new website with live chat support. They helped me in real time to fix my SSL issue. Nice SSL :-)

Showing review 1 to 10 of 392 | Next | Last