StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.41 (380 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 380 | Next | Last

noemon
Amazing Stuff
May 13, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Easy control panel, easy validation, these guys are amazing
Asle
Awsome tech support!
May 10, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

It was a little frustrating to get the client certificate to work for my account login but after a few tries that was ok. I had an issue with my encrypted key file on nginx. But Danny at support was really patient to a newbie like me. He guided me through every step even if I had to start all over again. I got some good knowledge on how the certificates work. And all this for free! I surely will buy my next comercial certificate here
Koen Leys
Excellent support is an understatement
April 21, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Customer support that goes above and beyond! They even helped me debug issues with installing the cert in our exchange server. Rare to find a company that goes to these lengths for their customers!
Stijn Haezebrouck
Fast, Free, and good
March 31, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.dilbeekac.be
Organization: DAC

The service is very user friendly. You can have a reliable free certificate for 5 subdomains. You are forced to validate your domain by having them send an e-mail to a fixed e-mail adress (webmaster@). This is how they check that you control the domain. I had a configuration problem on my website (wrong certificate chain). They have responded immediately to my question, with valuable information. Creating a certificate requires some openssl knowledge however, as you have to provide the certificate request yourself.
Joseph Morris
The only game in town for free
March 21, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://xenotropic.net
Organization: n/a

It does what it's supposed to, and you can't beat the price. Only complaint was that for a while Chrome would complain that its signing algorithm (SHA-1) was old, but no longer the case as of this writing 3-21-2016.
Murray Leach
Simpler than expected
March 3, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://www.teluxhd.com
Organization: MergedComms Ltd

Filling in all the details took longer than their background checks. A friendly person called to ask security questions. Overall very impressed
Robert
Fast and Easy
February 22, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.calweb.com
Organization: CalWeb Internet Services, Inc.

Been using them now since 2012. For an organization that needs multiple certs, you can't beat a 3 year wildcard for $119. Also can get other certs under the same account essentially free as their model is very unique, verifying identity and organization and then unlimited certs for domains you control. I've recommended them to several of my customers requiring multiple certs.
Dim
Would not recommend
January 27, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

I have started with free tier Class 1 certificate. Initially, my experience was good so I decided to buy Class 2 Identity Verification for $59.90. Validation process was not smooth but in 1 month or so I got Class 2 validation. However, after several month, I found that my Class 2 validation is no available. I have tried to resolve this issue contacting Startcomm by different channels (email, bug request etc) but with no luck. They were simply not responding. Obviously, will not use StartSSL anymore and would not recommend to anyone. Free tier might be OK but be careful spending your money.
Martin
*** P E R F E C T ***
January 26, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://test.meinmail.info
Organization: Computer-Dienst.at e.U.

very good; keep going like this :-)
Richard M.
Nice for personal, seems difficult for the rest
January 20, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

They're free SSL certificate is secure and... FREE. However, you have to make sure you know what you're doing. It's a little complicated. Validations for EV certificates seems a little bit of a pain. I'll continue to use it for free personal SSL only.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 380 | Next | Last