StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.4 (373 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 373 | Next | Last

Dim
Would not recommend
January 27, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

I have started with free tier Class 1 certificate. Initially, my experience was good so I decided to buy Class 2 Identity Verification for $59.90. Validation process was not smooth but in 1 month or so I got Class 2 validation. However, after several month, I found that my Class 2 validation is no available. I have tried to resolve this issue contacting Startcomm by different channels (email, bug request etc) but with no luck. They were simply not responding. Obviously, will not use StartSSL anymore and would not recommend to anyone. Free tier might be OK but be careful spending your money.
Martin
*** P E R F E C T ***
January 26, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://test.meinmail.info
Organization: Computer-Dienst.at e.U.

very good; keep going like this :-)
Richard M.
Nice for personal, seems difficult for the rest
January 20, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

They're free SSL certificate is secure and... FREE. However, you have to make sure you know what you're doing. It's a little complicated. Validations for EV certificates seems a little bit of a pain. I'll continue to use it for free personal SSL only.
Dave
Read before you buy!
January 9, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Organization: Myself

With regards to the Class 2 cert... now they have moved the goal posts a bit and do not like you using it for a small business domain, no problem 2 years before. Other SSL providers are less strict, had a worrying time today as to whether I could use what I paid for, kicked up a bit of a fuss and they issued it in the end. Asked for a refund if I made a mistake in not understanding the goal post move. Thing is on the phone and chat etc, all was fine, juts pay and we will issue, paid and spent the whole afternoon trying to get my cert issued. Got there in the end, but as this title says, read before you buy. Also another plus is the Israeli lady who phoned me to verify things sounded well sexy. :) 59 dollars for two years of green is ok with me regardless of a few hassles. And their free offering is brilliant when starting off. Hats off Thanks. Dave
Matthijs Neijenhuijs
Focussed on misleading clients
January 7, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://brulo.nl
Organization: DutchBridge

Its a terrible company. They don't answer questions the right way. They try to sell you something and after that you are getting the right answer. See also other reviews about not refunding money. I have several domains on personal name, but they declined it everytime because they think it from an other company. The weird thing is that sometimes domains get approved with the same content. If you ask how thats possible, they ignore the question.
Sytars.com
Excellent provider, keep going.
January 5, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Excellent provider, keep going.
Shiva Prasad
Makes SSL easy as pie.
November 26, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://www.shivaprasad.me

It was very easy to set up SSL on my website thanks to startSSL and godaddy.
Antonio
Best for personal use
November 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://fs1-rob.hwd.ro

Very happy I can secure personal domains/subdomains for free. Very easy to use and obtain a free ssl certificate!
Marc S.
Great value and service
November 19, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I use the StartSSL Certificates from Startcom a couple of years now an i'm very satisfied with it. The certificates works well an for the price you can't find a better offer. I had a problem with my account and the support solved this in a very short time and overall they are very helpfull if you have a question. I realy could recommend it.
Xendo
Good CA, very deep validations
November 17, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I ordered the Personal Validation and after sending them a copy of my ID they sent me a letter, as i could not provide a phone bill at the time. This took a while to get the letter form Israel to Germany but after 14 days it arrived and the rest of the process was smooth. I got a Object Code Signing certificate and a multi-domain wildcard certificate issued. Worth the hassle if you like a cost-effective certificate

Showing review 1 to 10 of 373 | Next | Last