StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.43 (358 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 358 | Next | Last

mark
excellent provider & service
August 27, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://thisaintnews.com
Organization: This Aint News

easy to use, excellent customer service and best of all it's free and their ca cert is bundled with all major browsers :)
Dan Churchill
Perfect for personal use
August 21, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I just wanted to stand up a small website for my HOA to do issue tracking. We don't want/need to spend any money for this, and I was going to use a self-managed CA with a server cert, but StartSSL makes it easier to generate and manage the key and certs, as well as being a true Root CA so you don't have to get everyone using the site to import and trust your CA cert (something that isn't even possible to do on some versions of Android), so IMO StartSSL's free service is the perfect fit, and their instructions are extremely easy to follow.
Michael Behrns-Miller
Their FREE automated process is THE BEST
August 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://bitpost.com

I don't know of anywhere else you can get free SSL certificates. And the process is robust and reliable. Any time I need help they respond extremely quickly, even though I'm using their TOTALLY FREE certs. I love these guys.
Rob G.
Certificates as intended
August 11, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I stumbled upon StartSSL years ago, and they have been my go-to SSL certificate provider ever since. The unbelievable ease of 'just getting a certificate' by myself is great - the interface is not the eaasiest to use, but once you figure it out, you get your certificate in minutes. I host a few sites, and once they request ssl, I usually have the certificates generated and installed within minutes. But the best part is: once in a while, I fuck up or need help with certificates. Their customer service team is plainly customer service as it should be. The response time is great; I've never had any 'ticket' for longer than a day, most were resolved in a way shorter time. I had one today (expired log in certificate - as I said, i sometimes fuck up), and they resolved my issue, retrieved my account and got me working again in under an hour. And this is regular customer service - no gold or paid stuff, just customer service. Highly recommended.
Stephen
Exceptional Customer Service
August 7, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I've been using StartCom for years. It takes a little know how to get things installed and working, but I think this is how it should be when dealing with products such as these. They have a very straightforward process in place and it works incredibly efficiently. I have experienced exceptional customer service from them in general over the years; however, Yael Luft specifically, has gone above and beyond in this regard. If you're having any kind of trouble, be sure to carefully read the documentation. Any time I've reached out to them, they have responded very quickly and professionally. In my opinion, they are a stand up company who takes their role in this industry very serious - and I greatly appreciate that.
Mr. T. Mabbs
Can be a little confusing to work out the processes, but overall excellent service.
August 7, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

We've been using StartSSL for a few years now. We would (and have; StartSSL have at least a couple of new customers thanks to recommendations from us) recommend them completely. The processes involved can take a little bit of figuring out through their web site - I didn't find it intuitive (and I'm used to dealing with PKI). However there is plenty of help available on the site, and everything is explained in there; plus on the few occasions we've had to use their support staff, the responses have been blindingly fast (minutes, and not many of them either), correct, helpful, and easy to understand. So maybe 3-4 out of 5 for the website and processes involved (could be clearer, IMHO) but overall a definite 5/5. Oh, and never had any compatibility problems with their certificates, etc. etc. etc. etc. Recommended.
Gary Edmonson
Painful from start to finish
August 1, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are okay
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

This company seems great on the surface and the business model they operate on (pay for the effort required by them) is truly amazing and I can't believe it hasn't been adopted before. This is what lured me in. However their website requires a major overhaul to make it more intuitive. The security (i.e. lack of username/password to login) is a nice touch. Most tasks lack any feedback (i.e. is it loading or is it stuck?). Their document upload facility is terrible and doesn't allow for the removal of documents accidentally uploaded. It also seems that once they have your personal data (including company accounts if you get to organisation validation) that you won't see it again and it is lost to the abyss with no way of removing it. If you decide you don't wish to use this company down the line then basically, tough luck - they have your data and refuse to dispose of it. They hide behind a rule they are governed by, which in my opinion they completely misinterpreted. Their customer service ranks between very friendly to just downright rude and obnoxious. One representative in particular, Yael Luft, appears to have mastered the art of one sentence replies that neither help or offer any guidance, they don't even answer the original question in most cases. That said a few of the representatives were very helpful, although they too also seemed to only want to deal with one point at a time. If all you want is a class 1 certificate this is the place to look. After all this service is free and from experience relatively straight forward and easy. Anything more and be prepared for a very long, painful and overly thorough process. For organisation validation we provided bank statements, company registrations, trademarks, incorporation documents, VAT receipts and even invoices from landlords (for the offices, to prove our address) and bills from our communications provider. This wasn't enough and we had to pay a lawyer (who has never met us before) to sign a piece of paper that basically confirmed the aforementioned evidence was real. Most of this evidence can easily be viewed online through government websites or other registered bodies, but apparently this wasn't enough. All in all, this company has the right idea - it's just executed in a bad way. Their pricing model is the way SSL needs to be. The approval and verification process, which is obviously very important, requires a lot of improvement. Their website equally is a long way behind it's competitors, but does show a lot of promise.
Nancy
Very helpfull after I mashed up
July 28, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I had to renew Firefox and had a problem with re-installing my certificates. The support reacted immediately and was very friendly. Thanks a lot. :-)
Trev
Nice Job StartSSL!!!
July 27, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Super fast issuance - great service. Have had nothing but positive experiences from them.
Andrey
Excellent support
June 21, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

A bit difficult test, but everything works fine. And it works great support.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 358 | Next | Last