StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

It was discovered that WoSign, a Chinese CA, secretly purchased StartCom at the end of 2015. Mozilla recently (September 2016) decided to temporarily distrust StartCom due to incidents of violating the Baseline Requirements.

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

4.43 (412 Total Reviews)

StartCom Reviews

Showing review 1 to 10 of 412 | Next | Last

Jan Smid
Jan Smid
They helped us a lot and make SSL easy
December 1, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://ispmail.alpha-webservice.net

I hope MOZILLA and others find ways to keep them accepted in future.
y zidell
y zidell
StartCom is Fantastic!!!
November 30, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

StartCom is terrific!! the site was a bit confusing at first glance but the customer service guys walked me thru everything. very patient and helpful customer service. Highly recommended.
christ
christ
Startcom Blacklisted by Firefox browser
November 29, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Since they were bought out by a Chinese CA company "Wosign" that was discovered issuing certs to basically wrong parties etc, Startcom got thrown under the bus by Mozilla please review the following article - https://blog.mozilla.org/security/2016/10/24/distrusting-new-wosign-and-startcom-certificates/ DO NOT USE STARTCOM OR WOSIGN!! I did and have regretted it...... Ahhhhhh!!!
Dmitry
Dmitry
Good job!
November 1, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Thank you for the solution of the problem, the technical support works very professionally.
Katharina K.
Katharina K.
Quick support via remote transmission
October 18, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

If something does not work, the people of StartCom are also quickly available via TeamViewer. It does not get any better. Great.
Romain
Romain
Perfect!
October 18, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Perfect! Certificate issued instantly, just works!
MonsterMix
MonsterMix
Great Place - Friendly Staff and Easy Site
October 13, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://monstermix.net
Organization: monstermix.net

They make it easy to get started with SSL/TLS and provide friendly, prompt support.
Martin
Martin
Awesome Support !!!
October 12, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I am totally happy with the support. They have a chat and they instantly help. Support People are totally professional and helpful.
Jan
Jan
Great support
October 12, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I'm using StartSSL since two years now and had a little problem lately. I started a chat with support and immediately got helped.
Rui Bárcia
Rui Bárcia
New Site
September 30, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://rbarcia.pt

This new site its a very good one, more friendly and easy to use. Since i start with the old one it was a problem when i come and se everything new. But with help from assistance it was easy to do what i need. Nice job!

Showing review 1 to 10 of 412 | Next | Last