StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.42 (346 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 346 | Next | Last

Dam
Very affordable certs, reactive support
May 22, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Very low prices (you pay for your identity validation, then you can edit as many certs as you want, including wildcards). Very reactive and helpful support staff. Recommended.
Mark
Very Happy with StarCom
May 15, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Overall, very happy. Love the Class 1 Free cert for my site. As a first-time customer, I found the interface a bit confusing at first, but now I know my way around, no problem. Had a minor glitch with my private key, but the StarCom support reps (especially Eddy) stuck with me and we got the problem resolved - excellent customer service, very fast response time. I would highly recommend StarCom!
Nate Davis
Best and easiest way to get started with SSL Certificates!
May 11, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I have been using StartSSL for a little over a year. They have been more than helpful on the multiple occasions that I have had to contact them regarding something that I missed. Although the instructions can be a little daunting at first, it's really quite easy once you get the hang of it. Between there support documents and customer service, this is a TOP RATED company. Thanks!
Robin Vermeirsch
The right price
May 11, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

This is the only CA that has a decent pricing. I don't get why anybody would like to use something else that costs 20 times more and offers the same or worse service. Just use this one
Kyle Gadd
Best Value Ever
May 1, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: https://www.bootpress.org/

I gave StartSSL 5 stars because they are the best value, no doubt about that. The interface is maybe 3 stars, but who cares - it worked. I was amazed at their thoroughness, compared to GoDaddy's care-less, rip-off approach. I will always recommend StartSSL to all of my clients from now on. They are the best!
Sirius Technologies
Absolutely best value on the market today
April 30, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

We have been using StartCom for several years now, and we saved thousands of dollars because one can issue any number of certificates after the verification process. This has enabled us to create wildcard and normal certificates for different domain names, a code signing certificate, and personal MIME e-mail certificates all valid for 2 years for a total cost of 119.80$ (at the time of writing). In contrast to some other providers they also have SHA256 versions of all their intermediate certs, allowing to get excellent ratings on SSL test platforms.
paul
quick and easy
April 23, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://daly.com
Organization: daly computers inc

quick and easy. Free service but was able to get human support!
Hartmut Pfarr
Very professional team
April 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I am very happy with the outstanding support of StartCom's SSL service team. They provide a very reliable product. It's a pleasure to work with.
Frank Heinrich
Very thorough
April 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Organization: Westside Family Healthcare

While it took some time to get this done, I was impressed with the level of verification they went through to make sure "we are who we say we are". I have purchased certs in the past and the previous companies weren't this thorough. Do not wait until the last minute to start the verification process. It may take some time for verification. They actually sent me a registered letter with a verification code to verify my address.
Charles
Couldn't be happier
April 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I used the free Class 1 certificates for a while since I had no need for anything more. I never had any problems with this, the service was outstanding and I was paying nothing for it. When I needed more features such as wildcards I upgraded to Class 2. The process was very easy and it was the best value for money BY FAR on the market. The only time I had a problem it was completely my fault. The customer support replied to me and fixed the problem incredibly quickly. I've never had such a quick and easy customer support experience with something like this before.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 346 | Next | Last