StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.4 (333 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 333 | Next | Last

Ian Pilcher
Not trustworthy?
March 23, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Immediately

AFAICT, there's no way to use a securely generated key. They seem to require that one use a key generated in one's browser -- by Javascript from their site (or elsewhere). So there's no reasonable way to know if their code generates these keys in a secure fashion. Bleck!
Yassen D.
Excellent, lightning-fast support!
March 21, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://This one was for a mail server (imap.itlabs.bg, smtp.itlabs.bg)

This is the third time I need help from StartSSL.com support team. Always got *immediate* reaction and proper instructions for how to resolve the issue (my personal auth certificate for accessing the site has expired, so it was non-trivial). Issuing a new certificate happened instantly after proper validations. Now when I know the site well, everything works perfectly for me (but I have to admin that in the beginning I needed some time to figure out how it all works). Highly recommended! (And to the guys from StartSSL: Keep up the great work!)
Nimrod
Outstanding support
March 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I obtained a free certificate from StartSSL and was having problems with renewing the certificate. I contacted StartSSL' support via email and received prompt and helpful assistance even during off-work hours and over the weekend. I wholeheartedly recommend StartSSL.
Jean-Philippe Prud'Homme
Perfect!
March 12, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Service was very good and responsive
Tom Aafloen
Fast and professional support - even for free!
March 12, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I had a problem with a certificate and the support discovered the problem and solved it for me very quickly. Highly recommended!
John Csuti
WOW FAST SSL Certificates
March 11, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://coolcomputers.info
Organization: CoolComputers

i have issued a few ssl certificates and got them signed in a few. Vary Pleased
Gonzalo EscarrĂ¡
Been using them for years
March 9, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I've been using StartCom for almost 5 years now in my home lab since they became a trusted CA by iOS/Android phones and Windows 8 and above. I run StartCom certificates for many different test services and have never had a problem that couldn't be resolved in minutes. Their support is amazing and usually respond to e-mail within 10 minutes.
Dario Fumagalli
Just can't get a single thing done, they charge fees for EVERYTHING!
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Identity Multiple Domains
Support: They are okay
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I am saddened to say I had a most terrible experience with this company. Like most, I got interested at them because they offer free certificates. Too bad, once you are "in", they tell the certificate is "commercial" despite being for a no profit, hobby personal blog. After paying, it took a lot of boureaucracy pain and almost 2 weeks to get a validation mail. However the certificate expires basing on the date of payment. The website has just enough facilities to deal with the most basic, free certificates. I purchased a class 2... and got it busted. The website provides a Nginx tutorial missing pieces so you create a wrong multi-website certificate and... they CHARGE $26+ to have it deleted / fixed. Politely asking for detailed and *correct* instructions about how to finally create a functional certificate made them enter "guru meditation" and my emails have not been replied since then. Now I am stuck with a broken certificate that no web browser accepts as valid, stuck websites and no support whatsoever. $59.90 thrown in the toilet.
Mark Beckitt
SSL the abc's
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://biometalsuk.com

I was petrified to get and install an ssl certificate for a few reasons, firstly, I do not know what they really are even to this day, second, how do you install a certificate on to a website??? those were the big scare points but now thanks to startssl and me a tiny bit, my friend has an ssl certificate for his site. Am here just to say thanks to startssl for making it so easy to get and install, the site is self explanatory, there is no hard work needed, just remember your key has to be between 10 to 30 characters and follow the instructions, easiest difficult sounding thing have ever done, next for me is the class 2 and 3 and will let you know if it becomes easier to do.
Oliver Strecke
very quick support if needed
March 4, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://viamon.com
Organization: viamon GmbH

Well, These guys from StartCom are real quick. Everytime i had a question, the Response time was within some minutes by E-Mail. And all is quite professional and they never let me alone with my Problem. Ok, the unique Login procedure is not my first choice, but if you arrived the Dashboard, the workflow is quite easy and quick. Their certificates are well known and accepted, so our Company decided to go with StartCom the next view years, because there is no other Provider with that Price-performance-Value. Regards, Oliver

Showing review 1 to 10 of 333 | Next | Last