StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.41 (323 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 323 | Next | Last

Michael Thesenvitz
Easy SSL setup and Great Support
February 28, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

The setup of the SSL authority is straight forward and even my opera browser didnt save the client cert properly the Support staff was reacting prompt to create a new account and merge it with the previous one. Again excelllent support.
ZX6R
SSL has never been easier!
February 28, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Organization: WalnutGaming LLC

I first started off with a free certificate, which was easy to apply and is valid and trusted. Then I bought a extended validation which was delivered in less than a hour. Overall I am satisfied with their service.
Gary
Excellent Support and Products
February 25, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://savvy-saver.co.uk

I have the up most respect for these guys, they are super active, extremly helpful, always pleasent polite and sure of what they instruct you to do and trust me this is rare, I will absolutly recommend everyone I know from now onwards about Start SSL I am not speechless I just think the above statement describes them superbly, short sweet and to the point.
Andrey Kravchina
Just good.
February 19, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

It's free for non-profit organizations.
Parames
Best Ever!
February 11, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://linuxfreaks.in

They are very fast and best SSL provider. My website is now A+ with StartSSL Free Class 1 certificate. https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze.html?d=linuxfreaks.in&latest Keep up the good work and i recommend them very much.
David Ward
Startssl is a solid CA with the best prices
February 3, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: https://www.dward.us
Organization: David Ward

I started using Startssl about 6-7 years ago. Startssl offers all that you need with an easy to use web console, fast responding customer support and the most competitive pricing. The client login is down by a browser cert (of course, they are a cert company). This puts the burden of not losing this cert on you as the client. This is different to the way users have been trained to login to sites, so can be a problem. Otherwise, I have had no issue, especially now with more browser support than 6-7 years ago.
Hugo
Fast service and very helpful
February 2, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Had a few problems getting my certificates to work, but with excellent and very fast service all this was resolved very quickly.
Arjan Anthonisse
Great service, helpful crew
February 1, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I have used StartCom a few years now. Their service is great. Everything is explained very well, although the subject of certificates is not easy. Highly recommended.
Dave Quested
Great service, great price, interface needs work
January 28, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

We've used StartCom for the last few years. Their service has been great, always prompt to get back to us if we have any issues. The docs are pretty good. The only thing I'd say is they need to upgrade their web interface. It's pretty dated, not very obvious and a bit clunky. Other than that, highly recommended.
Hrishi
StartCom Better than the Best
January 27, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://pro-acelife.com/index.html
Organization: pro-acelife.com

Great technical plus points such as 1) Check netcraft.com" SSL survey, for OCSP stapling Startcom" is fastest CA in the list of top 10. 2) If you have sub-domain such as "login.example.com" for secured "login" to get SSL for that you need to create CSR for "login.example.com" to get SSL cert. from any available CA in the market. In that case your SSL will only secure your sub-domain "login.example.com" not your root domain "example.com". But here, with StartSSL Certificate, you can secure your sub-domain "login.example.com" as well your root domain "example.com". 3) Another research: Open any secured page in Goolge Chrome or IE. Say visit comodo.com and go to login page. You will see Green Address Bar, Click on Green Bar - Connection - Certificate Information - Details - Show All - You will notice Yellow Triangle on Key Usage and Basic Constraints, i.e. some kind of warning may be. Same issue for another CAs geotrust.com, Globalsign, Thawte, Verisign, DigiCert etc... But, I found only 2 CAs showing absolutely no Yellow Triangle warning StartCom and Entrust. **********************FREE fast Issuance Speed in less that 30 mins. ************************* P.S.: Those who are thinking to buy wildcard or EV ssl, go for StartCOM, you will get for 2 yrs at rock bottom price compare to other brands.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 323 | Next | Last