StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

It was discovered that WoSign, a Chinese CA, secretly purchased StartCom at the end of 2015. Mozilla recently (September 2016) decided to temporarily distrust StartCom due to incidents of violating the Baseline Requirements.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.43 (402 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

None of the top 5000 sites are known to be using this CA

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 402 | Next | Last

Han Pa
Amazing Customer Service
September 20, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Since I am not familiar with setting up an SSL, I did not exactly know how to fix the certificate into my site. The Customer Service at Startcom made it insanely easy for me. They are very helpful and nice. I will soon shift to their premium services, they seem very reasonable. I fully recommend Startcom.
E Dressel
Great support
September 14, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Very patient with my questions. Nice to work with.
Michael
Good service and Free
September 11, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://www.mjbcontrols.com.au
Organization: MJB Controls

This is the second year I have used the free cert from these guys, and I am 100% happy with the service and product. The website can be a little confusing but once sorted you should be fine.
B T
Unique Service | Best I've ever seen
August 30, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://affekt.de

Live chat service agents are very friendly and helpful. I like the new website and guides are very useful. Works like a charm to get easily certificates for my websites. I will recommend it for my developer friends. And price is more than fair.
Bauke
Did the job but I needed the 24/7 live chat
August 29, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://www.baukejanssens.hk

In the end I am satisfied. The certificate works very well and meets the needs I had for my website. I could not manage it on my own however and the setup/install-flow was frustrating for that reason. The helpdesk/livechat helped a lot but I would rather prefer they provide a manual on the website explaining the flow from A-Z.
Srinu
Excellent Support work by Technical support team..
August 23, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I was new to here.. But after i saw the friendly support by the Technical team, Specially Jassica, I was felt anything.. Great work .. a way ahead for u.. Good luck Team
Jon Inazio
SSL certificate for AWS tomcat made easy!
August 22, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Organization: Ingartek Consulting

I tried to generate a keystore based on the certificates StartSSL generated for me, but I did it wrong. An agent helped me and solved the issue, now I've got AWS tomcat with SSL!
Custom Coding
Best source for SSL Certificates
August 21, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://custom-coding.net

They have an outstanding support, FREE certificates, and their validation fees are ridiculously cheap. Overall they are the best source atm for getting cheap Wildcard certificates in my opinion.
Helix
Happy customer
August 18, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.centrora.com

Every e-commerce website should have an SSL on it to help protect customer's transaction, StartCOM does it well! Their support is excellenet as well! We, Centrora Security, as a website security software vendor, highly recommend StartSSL and will integrate their API into our Wordpress and Joomla component in version 7! Highly recommended!
Michael Behrns-Miller
Top tier professional yet still free, these guys are great
August 6, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: StartSSL Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://bitpost.com
Organization: A better Software, Inc.

I've been using these guys for 10 years. They will actually help you (very competently!) even though the certs are free. They aren't wildcard certs, but you can generate as many as you need. I generate one for each of my 20 or so domains. I love these guys.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 402 | Next | Last