StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.41 (338 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 338 | Next | Last

Frank Heinrich
Very thorough
April 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Organization: Westside Family Healthcare

While it took some time to get this done, I was impressed with the level of verification they went through to make sure "we are who we say we are". I have purchased certs in the past and the previous companies weren't this thorough. Do not wait until the last minute to start the verification process. It may take some time for verification. They actually sent me a registered letter with a verification code to verify my address.
Charles
Couldn't be happier
April 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I used the free Class 1 certificates for a while since I had no need for anything more. I never had any problems with this, the service was outstanding and I was paying nothing for it. When I needed more features such as wildcards I upgraded to Class 2. The process was very easy and it was the best value for money BY FAR on the market. The only time I had a problem it was completely my fault. The customer support replied to me and fixed the problem incredibly quickly. I've never had such a quick and easy customer support experience with something like this before.
Roberto Antonetti Lamorgese Passeri
STARTCOM SSL, simply awesome; you must have!!
April 8, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.cibaci.it
Organization: Roberto Antonetti Lamorgese Passeri

In addition to offering excellent service, I have seen the efficiency and courtesy of staff to service customers. Excellent service over the top.
Robert Gray
A bit complex to use
April 7, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

The web site is somewhat confusing and muddled however once you have gotten through that it works well. I have s/mime certificates and web server certificates that work at a sensible price.
Lukas Elmer
Great product
April 7, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.renuo.ch
Organization: Renuo GmbH

The registration and verification is a bit time consuming and rather painful, but once this is done it's easy to verify new domains and issue new (wildcard) certificates. The usability of the website is pretty bad (considering it's 2015), but it gets the job done once you're used to it.
Ian Pilcher
Not trustworthy?
March 23, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Immediately

AFAICT, there's no way to use a securely generated key. They seem to require that one use a key generated in one's browser -- by Javascript from their site (or elsewhere). So there's no reasonable way to know if their code generates these keys in a secure fashion. Bleck!
Yassen D.
Excellent, lightning-fast support!
March 21, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://This one was for a mail server (imap.itlabs.bg, smtp.itlabs.bg)

This is the third time I need help from StartSSL.com support team. Always got *immediate* reaction and proper instructions for how to resolve the issue (my personal auth certificate for accessing the site has expired, so it was non-trivial). Issuing a new certificate happened instantly after proper validations. Now when I know the site well, everything works perfectly for me (but I have to admin that in the beginning I needed some time to figure out how it all works). Highly recommended! (And to the guys from StartSSL: Keep up the great work!)
Nimrod
Outstanding support
March 14, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I obtained a free certificate from StartSSL and was having problems with renewing the certificate. I contacted StartSSL' support via email and received prompt and helpful assistance even during off-work hours and over the weekend. I wholeheartedly recommend StartSSL.
Jean-Philippe Prud'Homme
Perfect!
March 12, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Identity Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Service was very good and responsive
Tom Aafloen
Fast and professional support - even for free!
March 12, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I had a problem with a certificate and the support discovered the problem and solved it for me very quickly. Highly recommended!

Showing review 1 to 10 of 338 | Next | Last