GoDaddy SSL Certificate Reviews

GoDaddy is an SSL certificate authority that sells web hosting, domain names, SSL certificates, and other web services. GoDaddy was established in 1997, and is headquartered in Scottsdale, Arizona, USA.

The GoDaddy SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether GoDaddy is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real GoDaddy customers.

If you want to compare GoDaddy SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from GoDaddy, please post a GoDaddy SSL review to let others know what to expect.

3.01 (148 Total Reviews)

GoDaddy Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 148 | Next | Last

VIkram
VIkram
SSL Renewal is Very Expensive
April 13, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://www.onlineking.in
Organization: www.onlineking.in

Initially Bought at 599/-,... But the renewal is too expensive,.. Hence had to switch to Comodo.
Exchange User
Exchange User
Revoked Cert over and over again
February 25, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

I purchased an UCC SSL cert for my exchange server, I had it working for a few days and then the weekend hit and they revoked it. I fixed this the following week after much, much, much horrible support experience and then the weekend hit and again they revoked my cert. Godaddy's OSCP server takes forever to update, goDaddy support give different answers each time you call in to different techs, they won't even uses their OWN ssl tools but instead refer you to SSL Shopper, which is also outdated and not reading live SSL data leading them to believe the cert is doing one thing when it isn't. I won't be renewing with goDaddy again, and I won't recommend them either. Thanks
Andrew A Lorenz
Andrew A Lorenz
Poor Service
February 18, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://www.e-fsp.com

The technical support is atrocious, we sent them tons of information and they kept asking for more. Waste of time! Go with DigiCert and save your time, money, and sanity!
Steven Sweeney
Steven Sweeney
Rubbish. SSL sometimes appears revoked
January 22, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.brinkcasefiles.com

A catalogue of issues since buying a standard SSL from GoDaddy 2 weeks ago. I have installed several SSLs so I know how to do it, yet I had to re-install it 3 times. While that was happening GoDaddy told me they need to verify my Company, despite the fact I don't have a company they just didn't understand. But then when I queried why they want all this verification for just a standard SSL, they said they didn't need it. Haha Anyway, a few days ago the SSL was up and running.. except, it intermittently shows that the SSL has been revoked on several different broswers and computers in different locations. Just a joke really. I only bought from GoDaddy because they had a deal on but I'll stick with TSOHosts or NameCheap - Never had a problem with them.
Josh
Josh
GoDaddy EV-SSL sucks, they won't even issue refund even if their validation team is at fault.
December 25, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium (EV) Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Hi, I would like to file a formal complaint against GoDaddy.com Here is the reason below: On September 18, 2018 – I purchased an EV SSL from GoDaddy and I have submitted all necessary documents for business validation. I have gone through this process for at least 3 times in a row. At the end I didn’t get the certificate. Their system automatically denies my application since their validation team took so much time in the validation which usually takes 7days from competitors. They told me they weren’t able to contact our local agencies here which are also not my fault. On December 25, 2018 I decided to have my refund, to my surprise they were telling me I can’t have my refund due to their “out of policy refund’. They are forcing me to have a GoDaddy credit refund or in-store credit refund minus the month’s run out from September until today. How can I not have a refund for a product (EV-SSL) that I have never able to use and wasn’t issued to me? Please help I have tried to contact them for this issued twice already.
Nizam
Nizam
Certificate revoked before the expiry date
November 13, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.dxh.ae

No support or assistance from Godaddy to resolve the issue and I purchased new certificate from COMODO
juned raja
juned raja
worst ssl
September 26, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://evisaua.com
Organization: Immigration UA

worst service - always need to rekey - its not like standrd ssl - once set up never need to set up - guy from godaddy chat support even doesnt response every time ask support just then f**** want to sell their premium service and support or send you some tutorial URL
theblogpoint
theblogpoint
Makes SSL easy!
September 22, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: https://www.theblogpoint.com

overall its ok ... my first experience with godaddy is ok until yet ... i hope its also good in future and give more products as low cost with full satisfaction of the user ...
Charles B
Charles B
Went Elsewhere
July 23, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

We had GoDaddy SSL for one of our sites and GoDaddy decided to revoke our certificate without letting us know. They did notify us until after the fact via email... Ironically on a Friday afternoon. Ok, no big deal, so downloaded and installed the updated cert, updated the root auth. Turns out Safari did not like this change. I reached out to support after clearing the cache and resetting Safari. That was a useless phone call. After a couple hours of messing around, we decided to go with a Digicert SSL cert. Problem solved. We will not be using GoDaddy going forward. We have used them for various hosting needs, SSL and domain stuff. We will start migrating to other services as services expire. We were a loyal customer.
Thomas
Thomas
Easy to set up
April 20, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I just got my domain through Go Daddy last night and signed up for their free trial of hosting. They are really good. Thanks.
ASHOK GOYAL
ASHOK GOYAL
Renewal is Very Expensive
April 16, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://xpertconusltants.in
Organization: Web Question Answers

I got the Standard SSL at a very low rate of just about 10-12 dollars but at the time of renewal they asked for more than 60 dollars and they never guided me that I can use self-signed SSL also for Free. Moreover, GoDaddy could not explain the difference between Fresh and Renewed SSL Certificated. When I came to know about the fact there is no difference in Fresh SSL and Renewed SSL I got refunded my Renewal Charges and activated Fresh Certificated Purchased from some other CA just for $7 (Seven Dollars) only. I am a senior citizen and retired banker having developed my website at CIBIL Consultants myself and I can install any SSL within minutes.
Cookie's Shop
Cookie's Shop
SSL and Hosting are Incompetent Ripoffs
April 12, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

We spent hours verifying there were no conflicting SSL's before contacting Gina. Initially, she genuinely tried to help. The SSL worked for some SANs but not all, with SSL testing sites (even GoDaddy's) saying there was an OCSP error for two SANs. She transferred us to Henry who refused a refund and refused to get the UCC certificate working citing installation, which was on a GoDaddy Server. If it was an installation error, none of the SANs would work, barring conflicting certificates, which we had made sure there were none. This came on the heals of their server people putting a line in the .htaccess file redirecting all .jpg, .png. .gif files over to a GoDaddy sales site. These people might be cost-effective for domain sales but for hosting and secure certificates, it's hit or miss and you don't really want to be on the "miss" side of things. I'd stay well clear of GoDaddy hosting and SSL's.
Saith Kamran
Saith Kamran
Easy and Simple SSL
January 30, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://www.uaefixer.com

Google Chrome is still not showing andMozilla shows Padlock but with caution Triangle in Yellow color. Secured Green address bar with my website.
Direct Compost Solutions
Direct Compost Solutions
quicker to get go daddy to do it
January 4, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://compot.com.au
Organization: direct compost solutions

My web developer and I tried numerous times over several hours to install the SSL certificate. Clearly it was not as easy as it should be. I finally gave up and got godaddy to do it and it was done in less than 15 minutes. Should have done this to start with. That part of my review that say "how easy was it to order the certificate and manage the certificate" does not offer an option -"it was difficult to use"
Caitlin
Caitlin
Simple, Straightforward, Super Duper
October 27, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

This was as easy as it gets. I called, they did it, they told me what to look for, voila, I'm secure within the hour.
Formsarchive
Formsarchive
Good experience!
October 10, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://formsarchive.com

I'm happy with their service and instructions. It was not expensive, quick and smooth procedure of installing and i'm pretty happy with the quality.
Robert Hill
Robert Hill
SSL caused my site to crash - dont use media temple
August 9, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://capitalhill.co.nz
Organization: Media Temple

My site was fine and then ordered an SSL. It didn't install properly and my website was down for 18 hours. Their support ticket just said it was my plugins causing the issue but the plugins folder had been renamed. They never responded and told me what was happening.
Abdullah AVCI
Abdullah AVCI
Top-level security certifications at affordable prices.
July 14, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://aponkral.net/

I bought an SSL Certificate from GoDaddy. The setup was very easy. Within 15 minutes the SSL Certificate has been activated. GoDaddy provides us with the best encryption. I am very happy with GoDaddy. Convenient for the prices.
Anam Kinsey
Anam Kinsey
Shop Elsewhere!!
July 13, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://www.bnbseo.com
Organization: Anam Kinsey

I know we all have to do the horrible and make the switch to SSL/Https. I have done it a few times and it looks like godaddy made an easier means to do so. Don't fall for it. It is just a new money model for godaddy. I talked with near 10 different techs (all of whom provide non identifying names -Dave, Paul, Mike and so on-) following their instructions to my grief. Following SLL techs advice will absolutely lead to expense, pain and humiliation. Their instructions will break your sites. The techs are trained to then take advantage of your confusion, a confusion they contribute to by a MESS of contradictory instructions. Good Luck if you make the mistake of thinking past experience means that Godaddy will take care of you. No longer true. Please share around when you find someone who actually knows what they are doing about SSL.
Vinod Kandaneli
Vinod Kandaneli
Renewals costs are high
June 20, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium (EV) Certificate
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: https://bullbasket.com

Anyone who applies for an EV SSL must pass a rigorous vetting process that no hacker or thief could survive. If you have an Extended Validation EV SSL Certificate, customers know you're legitimate.

Showing review 1 to 20 of 148 | Next | Last