GoDaddy SSL Certificate Reviews

GoDaddy is an SSL certificate authority that sells web hosting, domain names, SSL certificates, and other web services. GoDaddy was established in 1997, and is headquartered in Scottsdale, Arizona, USA.

The GoDaddy SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether GoDaddy is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real GoDaddy customers.

If you want to compare GoDaddy SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from GoDaddy, please post a GoDaddy SSL review to let others know what to expect.

2.97 (156 Total Reviews)

GoDaddy Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 156 | Next | Last

Michael Green
Michael Green
Very poor / clueless technical support
July 16, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Very poor / clueless technical support with very poor English skills
steven coryell
steven coryell
Will not assist without extra money even than take days
July 14, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are okay
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: several
Organization: Media Data Network

I have multiple sites. I have spent over 60 hours with Godaddy customer support on 10 ssl certificates. I paid hundreds of dollars and still get no support just wanting me to buy more or different certificates than they sold me the first time. I've been with Godaddy nearly 10 years. Makes no difference. I am very surprised as usually they have been great. I don't know what happened with SSL. I wouldn't recommend them for that.
John Wilkins
John Wilkins
Avoid GoDaddy at all costs
July 8, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

They are terrible and will ruin your website and business! Every time I speak with a different rep, I am told something completely different than the last rep I spoke with. This continues over and over and results in a huge waste of time and loss of business, both sales and potential customers. This is in relation to web hosting and SSLs. My advice: Avoid GoDaddy at all costs!
UCS
UCS
Makes Understanding the Process of Installing an SSL clearer GoDaddy Tech Support to External Client
June 28, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Organization: CFGC

Our interaction with GoDaddy was extremely helpful. The hosting entity of our client did not clarify the necessary steps for obtaining a CSR from the host server, Copying and Pasting that CSR into the GoDaddy CSR Validation tool then after validating the CSR, going back to grab the private key from the newly created CSR and simply pasting that private key information into the private key SSL portal for uploading. As a result of GoDaddy tech support, they took a monumental tennis match between themselves and the host of our client and reduced it down to its lowest denominator and we successfully loaded the SSL into place for our client. Now was that so hard?
Jason
Jason
SSL is complex. Godaddy are average
June 4, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Godaddy did provide telephone support, and provide an adequate product. I have had good and average experiences with the telephone support. I found Godaddy far more expensive than other suppliers, but what made me move away from them was the endless prompting to renew or purchase products I did not want or need to the point of the "Give me your credit card and buy right now or the price will go up" hussle. Anyone who says SSL installation is easy has not tested access to their site internationally. You have to remember a lot of caching is going on. On top of that, the private key generated when generating the Certificate Signing Request (CSR) is NOT what you install on your server, which can be confusing. If you get the config wrong, this may not show up in your browser for over an hour because of caching.
Leo
Leo
Good service
May 30, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.clasf.es/

At this moment, we are satisfied with the service.
Aaron
Aaron
Overpriced and very poorly executed
May 27, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I am slowing moving all of my products/services away from Godaddy. I used to be a huge proponent of their services, and recommended them often. Now it seems like they have become way to "salesy" and the customer support that I used to rave about is now very disappointing to say the least. I recently had an SSL certificate renew, but they managed to somehow screw up the renewal and so my website was being flagged as unsafe, potentially costing me thousands of dollars every day it was down. They tried to put the onus on me to fix the issue myself. I am now on day 5 without the issue being resolved and still waiting. I will be moving this site away ASAP.
CJ
CJ
Great IF cert is not used by Java
April 30, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL Wildcard
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I've been a huge fan of GoDaddy for domain services and until SHA256 certs became mandantory, SSL certs as well. We used GoDaddy for our wildcard domain SSL cert and it turns out that the root servers are not included in the Java KeyStore. To make matters MUCH worse, the certificate chain seems to include a root server, a 1st level intermediate server and a 2nd level intermediate server. The root server and 1st level intermediate server have _identical_ subjects meaning same CN, OU O etc... This seems to make loading the SHA256 cert chain servers into the Java KeyStore impossible from my attempts and that of a support vendor. To get cert to authenticate, needed to move the SSL resolution onto our load balancer. Seems crazy that chain servers are named identical and that after all this time issuing SHA256 certs, they are still not included by default in the Java KeyStore values. If we run into any more issues like this, we'll be forced to get our SSL cert from an alternate source. From forums, GoDaddy has known about this issue a long time already.
VIkram
VIkram
SSL Renewal is Very Expensive
April 13, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://www.onlineking.in
Organization: www.onlineking.in

Initially Bought at 599/-,... But the renewal is too expensive,.. Hence had to switch to Comodo.
Exchange User
Exchange User
Revoked Cert over and over again
February 25, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

I purchased an UCC SSL cert for my exchange server, I had it working for a few days and then the weekend hit and they revoked it. I fixed this the following week after much, much, much horrible support experience and then the weekend hit and again they revoked my cert. Godaddy's OSCP server takes forever to update, goDaddy support give different answers each time you call in to different techs, they won't even uses their OWN ssl tools but instead refer you to SSL Shopper, which is also outdated and not reading live SSL data leading them to believe the cert is doing one thing when it isn't. I won't be renewing with goDaddy again, and I won't recommend them either. Thanks
Andrew A Lorenz
Andrew A Lorenz
Poor Service
February 18, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://www.e-fsp.com

The technical support is atrocious, we sent them tons of information and they kept asking for more. Waste of time! Go with DigiCert and save your time, money, and sanity!
Steven Sweeney
Steven Sweeney
Rubbish. SSL sometimes appears revoked
January 22, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.brinkcasefiles.com

A catalogue of issues since buying a standard SSL from GoDaddy 2 weeks ago. I have installed several SSLs so I know how to do it, yet I had to re-install it 3 times. While that was happening GoDaddy told me they need to verify my Company, despite the fact I don't have a company they just didn't understand. But then when I queried why they want all this verification for just a standard SSL, they said they didn't need it. Haha Anyway, a few days ago the SSL was up and running.. except, it intermittently shows that the SSL has been revoked on several different broswers and computers in different locations. Just a joke really. I only bought from GoDaddy because they had a deal on but I'll stick with TSOHosts or NameCheap - Never had a problem with them.
Josh
Josh
GoDaddy EV-SSL sucks, they won't even issue refund even if their validation team is at fault.
December 25, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium (EV) Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Hi, I would like to file a formal complaint against GoDaddy.com Here is the reason below: On September 18, 2018 – I purchased an EV SSL from GoDaddy and I have submitted all necessary documents for business validation. I have gone through this process for at least 3 times in a row. At the end I didn’t get the certificate. Their system automatically denies my application since their validation team took so much time in the validation which usually takes 7days from competitors. They told me they weren’t able to contact our local agencies here which are also not my fault. On December 25, 2018 I decided to have my refund, to my surprise they were telling me I can’t have my refund due to their “out of policy refund’. They are forcing me to have a GoDaddy credit refund or in-store credit refund minus the month’s run out from September until today. How can I not have a refund for a product (EV-SSL) that I have never able to use and wasn’t issued to me? Please help I have tried to contact them for this issued twice already.
Nizam
Nizam
Certificate revoked before the expiry date
November 13, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.dxh.ae

No support or assistance from Godaddy to resolve the issue and I purchased new certificate from COMODO
juned raja
juned raja
worst ssl
September 26, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://evisaua.com
Organization: Immigration UA

worst service - always need to rekey - its not like standrd ssl - once set up never need to set up - guy from godaddy chat support even doesnt response every time ask support just then f**** want to sell their premium service and support or send you some tutorial URL
theblogpoint
theblogpoint
Makes SSL easy!
September 22, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: https://www.theblogpoint.com

overall its ok ... my first experience with godaddy is ok until yet ... i hope its also good in future and give more products as low cost with full satisfaction of the user ...
Charles B
Charles B
Went Elsewhere
July 23, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are okay
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

We had GoDaddy SSL for one of our sites and GoDaddy decided to revoke our certificate without letting us know. They did notify us until after the fact via email... Ironically on a Friday afternoon. Ok, no big deal, so downloaded and installed the updated cert, updated the root auth. Turns out Safari did not like this change. I reached out to support after clearing the cache and resetting Safari. That was a useless phone call. After a couple hours of messing around, we decided to go with a Digicert SSL cert. Problem solved. We will not be using GoDaddy going forward. We have used them for various hosting needs, SSL and domain stuff. We will start migrating to other services as services expire. We were a loyal customer.
Thomas
Thomas
Easy to set up
April 20, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I just got my domain through Go Daddy last night and signed up for their free trial of hosting. They are really good. Thanks.
ASHOK GOYAL
ASHOK GOYAL
Renewal is Very Expensive
April 16, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://xpertconusltants.in
Organization: Web Question Answers

I got the Standard SSL at a very low rate of just about 10-12 dollars but at the time of renewal they asked for more than 60 dollars and they never guided me that I can use self-signed SSL also for Free. Moreover, GoDaddy could not explain the difference between Fresh and Renewed SSL Certificated. When I came to know about the fact there is no difference in Fresh SSL and Renewed SSL I got refunded my Renewal Charges and activated Fresh Certificated Purchased from some other CA just for $7 (Seven Dollars) only. I am a senior citizen and retired banker having developed my website at CIBIL Consultants myself and I can install any SSL within minutes.
Cookie's Shop
Cookie's Shop
SSL and Hosting are Incompetent Ripoffs
April 12, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

We spent hours verifying there were no conflicting SSL's before contacting Gina. Initially, she genuinely tried to help. The SSL worked for some SANs but not all, with SSL testing sites (even GoDaddy's) saying there was an OCSP error for two SANs. She transferred us to Henry who refused a refund and refused to get the UCC certificate working citing installation, which was on a GoDaddy Server. If it was an installation error, none of the SANs would work, barring conflicting certificates, which we had made sure there were none. This came on the heals of their server people putting a line in the .htaccess file redirecting all .jpg, .png. .gif files over to a GoDaddy sales site. These people might be cost-effective for domain sales but for hosting and secure certificates, it's hit or miss and you don't really want to be on the "miss" side of things. I'd stay well clear of GoDaddy hosting and SSL's.

Showing review 1 to 20 of 156 | Next | Last