GoDaddy SSL Certificate Reviews

GoDaddy is an SSL certificate authority that sells web hosting, domain names, SSL certificates, and other web services. GoDaddy was established in 1997, and is headquartered in Scottsdale, Arizona, USA.

GoDaddy

The GoDaddy SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether GoDaddy is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real GoDaddy customers.

If you want to compare GoDaddy SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from GoDaddy, please post a GoDaddy SSL review to let others know what to expect.

2.9 (161 Total Reviews)

GoDaddy SSL Certificates

  • Standard UC Certificate
  • Standard SSL Wildcard
  • Standard SSL
  • Premium (EV) Certificate
  • Code Signing Certificate

Write review for GoDaddy

Popular Sites That Use GoDaddy

GoDaddy Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 162 | Next | Last

Peter

Peter

8h into support and it's still not deployed properly
December 11, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Deluxe SSL

Our business domain stopped working over a week ago as the certificate expired. GoDaddy has updated the one on {ourdomain}.com, and the certificate is correctly listing both the domain and the `www` host as alias. But it fails to appear on www.{ourdomain}.com, which is still using the old certificate. We have spent many hours with their support, which insists that this is not a problem at all, as the `www` hosts redirects to the domain name. The only problem with that is that browsers will validate the cert before the re-direct, an issue multiple GoDaddy support members completely refuse to acknowledge. Both this site and OpenSSL easily show the problem, but it's continuously being dismissed as irrelevant.
yiftach

yiftach

STAY AWAY FROM THAT COMPANY!!!!!!!!!
November 20, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL Wildcard

They cause us big damages, the website was not loading because their ssl had a malfunction, and they didn't find the issue for few days. The website was not accessible for few days and they could not fix the issue. AND STILL CAN'T!!!!
Charles

Charles

Don't buy EV SSL, wildcard SSL from Godaddy.
October 16, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium (EV) Certificate
Website: N/A

you can buy standard SSL from godaddy, but not any other advanced ones. Everyone, please note EV, wildcard etc requires extensible & horrible verification process. Your patience limit will be tested. Even if you sent them all the requested ID proof, attested letter, org registration number etc your certificate won't be issued. They will keep on sending previous mails asking you to send them again. Below is an example mail; but unfortunately we cannot accept them as they are currently. The documents must be printed out, screenshots cannot be accepted. ----- Even after repeatedly asking what's he intending after the work currently, they sent the same mail. Secondly we have not sent any screenshots. For all, don't use godaddy for advanced certificates.
Murtaza Husain

Murtaza Husain

they sell very smoothly, but never offer support
September 3, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Deluxe SSL
Website: http://www.b2bprospex.com
Organization: Asak Veda Services

once you've paid them, they make you miserable to help. No after sales support. Their support staff is 10th grade english speaking zoombies.
DEBI PRASAD BARAL

DEBI PRASAD BARAL

Godaddy has bugs in their stuff dont use them my verdict
August 27, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL

I have my site down for more than a day because of them. They revoked my certificate without telling me and the new certificate never got installed in my server i have moved to new provider. They charge high but their tech at backend is bad. DO NOT use them especially if if u r having multiple certificates. They cant handle that.
Michael Green

Michael Green

Very poor / clueless technical support
July 16, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL

Very poor / clueless technical support with very poor English skills
steven coryell

steven coryell

Will not assist without extra money even than take days
July 14, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Website: several
Organization: Media Data Network

I have multiple sites. I have spent over 60 hours with Godaddy customer support on 10 ssl certificates. I paid hundreds of dollars and still get no support just wanting me to buy more or different certificates than they sold me the first time. I've been with Godaddy nearly 10 years. Makes no difference. I am very surprised as usually they have been great. I don't know what happened with SSL. I wouldn't recommend them for that.
John Wilkins

John Wilkins

Avoid GoDaddy at all costs
July 8, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

They are terrible and will ruin your website and business! Every time I speak with a different rep, I am told something completely different than the last rep I spoke with. This continues over and over and results in a huge waste of time and loss of business, both sales and potential customers. This is in relation to web hosting and SSLs. My advice: Avoid GoDaddy at all costs!
UCS

UCS

Makes Understanding the Process of Installing an SSL clearer GoDaddy Tech Support to External Client
June 28, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Organization: CFGC

Our interaction with GoDaddy was extremely helpful. The hosting entity of our client did not clarify the necessary steps for obtaining a CSR from the host server, Copying and Pasting that CSR into the GoDaddy CSR Validation tool then after validating the CSR, going back to grab the private key from the newly created CSR and simply pasting that private key information into the private key SSL portal for uploading. As a result of GoDaddy tech support, they took a monumental tennis match between themselves and the host of our client and reduced it down to its lowest denominator and we successfully loaded the SSL into place for our client. Now was that so hard?
Jason

Jason

SSL is complex. Godaddy are average
June 4, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products

Godaddy did provide telephone support, and provide an adequate product. I have had good and average experiences with the telephone support. I found Godaddy far more expensive than other suppliers, but what made me move away from them was the endless prompting to renew or purchase products I did not want or need to the point of the "Give me your credit card and buy right now or the price will go up" hussle. Anyone who says SSL installation is easy has not tested access to their site internationally. You have to remember a lot of caching is going on. On top of that, the private key generated when generating the Certificate Signing Request (CSR) is NOT what you install on your server, which can be confusing. If you get the config wrong, this may not show up in your browser for over an hour because of caching.
Leo

Leo

Good service
May 30, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Website: https://www.clasf.es/

At this moment, we are satisfied with the service.
Aaron

Aaron

Overpriced and very poorly executed
May 27, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL

I am slowing moving all of my products/services away from Godaddy. I used to be a huge proponent of their services, and recommended them often. Now it seems like they have become way to "salesy" and the customer support that I used to rave about is now very disappointing to say the least. I recently had an SSL certificate renew, but they managed to somehow screw up the renewal and so my website was being flagged as unsafe, potentially costing me thousands of dollars every day it was down. They tried to put the onus on me to fix the issue myself. I am now on day 5 without the issue being resolved and still waiting. I will be moving this site away ASAP.
CJ

CJ

Great IF cert is not used by Java
April 30, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL Wildcard

I've been a huge fan of GoDaddy for domain services and until SHA256 certs became mandantory, SSL certs as well. We used GoDaddy for our wildcard domain SSL cert and it turns out that the root servers are not included in the Java KeyStore. To make matters MUCH worse, the certificate chain seems to include a root server, a 1st level intermediate server and a 2nd level intermediate server. The root server and 1st level intermediate server have _identical_ subjects meaning same CN, OU O etc... This seems to make loading the SHA256 cert chain servers into the Java KeyStore impossible from my attempts and that of a support vendor. To get cert to authenticate, needed to move the SSL resolution onto our load balancer. Seems crazy that chain servers are named identical and that after all this time issuing SHA256 certs, they are still not included by default in the Java KeyStore values. If we run into any more issues like this, we'll be forced to get our SSL cert from an alternate source. From forums, GoDaddy has known about this issue a long time already.
VIkram

VIkram

SSL Renewal is Very Expensive
April 13, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Website: http://www.onlineking.in
Organization: www.onlineking.in

Initially Bought at 599/-,... But the renewal is too expensive,.. Hence had to switch to Comodo.
Exchange User

Exchange User

Revoked Cert over and over again
February 25, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate

I purchased an UCC SSL cert for my exchange server, I had it working for a few days and then the weekend hit and they revoked it. I fixed this the following week after much, much, much horrible support experience and then the weekend hit and again they revoked my cert. Godaddy's OSCP server takes forever to update, goDaddy support give different answers each time you call in to different techs, they won't even uses their OWN ssl tools but instead refer you to SSL Shopper, which is also outdated and not reading live SSL data leading them to believe the cert is doing one thing when it isn't. I won't be renewing with goDaddy again, and I won't recommend them either. Thanks
Andrew A Lorenz

Andrew A Lorenz

Poor Service
February 18, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Website: http://www.e-fsp.com

The technical support is atrocious, we sent them tons of information and they kept asking for more. Waste of time! Go with DigiCert and save your time, money, and sanity!
Steven Sweeney

Steven Sweeney

Rubbish. SSL sometimes appears revoked
January 22, 2019 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Website: http://www.brinkcasefiles.com

A catalogue of issues since buying a standard SSL from GoDaddy 2 weeks ago. I have installed several SSLs so I know how to do it, yet I had to re-install it 3 times. While that was happening GoDaddy told me they need to verify my Company, despite the fact I don't have a company they just didn't understand. But then when I queried why they want all this verification for just a standard SSL, they said they didn't need it. Haha Anyway, a few days ago the SSL was up and running.. except, it intermittently shows that the SSL has been revoked on several different broswers and computers in different locations. Just a joke really. I only bought from GoDaddy because they had a deal on but I'll stick with TSOHosts or NameCheap - Never had a problem with them.
Josh

Josh

GoDaddy EV-SSL sucks, they won't even issue refund even if their validation team is at fault.
December 25, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium (EV) Certificate

Hi, I would like to file a formal complaint against GoDaddy.com Here is the reason below: On September 18, 2018 – I purchased an EV SSL from GoDaddy and I have submitted all necessary documents for business validation. I have gone through this process for at least 3 times in a row. At the end I didn’t get the certificate. Their system automatically denies my application since their validation team took so much time in the validation which usually takes 7days from competitors. They told me they weren’t able to contact our local agencies here which are also not my fault. On December 25, 2018 I decided to have my refund, to my surprise they were telling me I can’t have my refund due to their “out of policy refund’. They are forcing me to have a GoDaddy credit refund or in-store credit refund minus the month’s run out from September until today. How can I not have a refund for a product (EV-SSL) that I have never able to use and wasn’t issued to me? Please help I have tried to contact them for this issued twice already.
Nizam

Nizam

Certificate revoked before the expiry date
November 13, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard SSL
Website: http://www.dxh.ae

No support or assistance from Godaddy to resolve the issue and I purchased new certificate from COMODO
juned raja

juned raja

worst ssl
September 26, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Standard UC Certificate
Website: http://evisaua.com
Organization: Immigration UA

worst service - always need to rekey - its not like standrd ssl - once set up never need to set up - guy from godaddy chat support even doesnt response every time ask support just then f**** want to sell their premium service and support or send you some tutorial URL

Showing review 1 to 20 of 162 | Next | Last