Network Solutions SSL Certificate Reviews

Network Solutions is an SSL certificate authority that sells web hosting, domain names, SSL certificates and other web services. Network Solutions was established in 1979, and is headquartered in Herdon, Virginia, USA.

The Network Solutions SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Network Solutions is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Network Solutions customers.

If you want to compare Network Solutions SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Network Solutions, please post a Network Solutions SSL review to let others know what to expect.

1.93 (15 Total Reviews)

Network Solutions Reviews

Showing review 1 to 15 of 15

jim williams
jim williams
Easy. I had no trouble
June 22, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Basic Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

read the reviews and thought I would try them since the pricing and promos were the best. I expected that it may not be easy based on some reviews but I got the basic cert within hours. Was great for me.
MIke Nicholas
MIke Nicholas
Worst SSL experience EVER!
April 30, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Basic Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://mx1-medley-insurance.com
Organization: Medley Insurance

After ordering it and getting stuck in a "submit csr then wait for email" loop for weeks and thinking it was an email filter issue filtering their email. I finally called them 5 weeks later and they said they had sold me a 4 year cert and they no longer offer it and that is why it wouldn't go through. So, they converted it to a 3 year and then when I submitted the csr I had the certificate within 15 minutes or so (the only decent part of the whole transaction). They package my purchased certificate with 3 others. One appears to be the trust root certificate and two intermediates. Should be straightforward to install it. NOT! 10 hours later and half the business mad at us because email keeps going up then down, I finally call them for now the 5th time I think. They said the separate certs would not work and told me to combine the public portion. So, I did that and it still won't work and the email is still hosed. Ultimately, I went back to our free self-signed certifcate because we were having a LOT less email being rejected than we did with their cert. I usually use GoDaddy and since they had an existing account with Network Solutions I thought it would be quicker. I am going to contact their accounts area tomorrow and try to get a refund. If we don't get one, I will dispute the charges. In my 18+ years in the industry, this is the absolute worse SSL experience I have ever had. Avoid these guys like the plague.
Eric Johanson
Eric Johanson
Too expensive, poor support, inadequate product
March 20, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Advanced Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I wanted to buy a UC/SAN certificate from Network Solutions, so I generated a CSR with 3 different SANs. Network Solutions happily accepted my CSR with multiple SANs, and proceeded to generate a certificate with only the first and primary common name. I immediately called tech support to ask why this happened, and was told that Network Solutions doesn't support UC/SAN certificates. Oh how convenient that they took my money and accepted my UC/SAN request, issued the certificate anyways, and now refuse to refund the money because the certificate is already "issued". Lost all my money and switched to DigiCert, which worked flawlessly.
Randolf Richardson
Randolf Richardson
Helpful and friendly support
February 23, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I ran into some confusion with the SSL certificates, and the technical support provided immediate and clear answers, and helped me resolve the problem within a few minutes. I use this company for SSL certificates and internet domain name registrations, and I'm very pleased with their reliability, consistency, and integrity.
Micael
Micael
Support is non-existant
April 22, 2014 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Wildcard Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day

I purchased a wildcard certificate from them. Just to figure out there are no instructions on how to use it. The little on the website is wrong and inapplicable. The phone support is a joke. Nobody is willing or able to explain anything, they just push you for their chargeable tech support. They made available 4 crt with little explanation on which is what and no trace of a pfx. A lot of money wasted. I won't buy anything from them ever again.
Eric Havemann
Eric Havemann
Re: Network Solutions SSL Certificate Reviews
December 29, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Wildcard Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day

My client was already a Network Solutions customer with a website and single-site SSL. I need to purchase a multi-domain SSL for their new Exchange 2013 server. They don't sell UC/SAN certificates but sold me a wildcard one at a competitive price. Wildcard certs aren't 'best practice' for Exchange 2013 but my understanding was that it would work, and I wanted to stick with a single vendor. Well, they took my money with no issue, but went ahead and applied the cert to the website that NetSol hosts and didn't make it available to me for my server! Now they refuse to refund my money without speaking to the account manager - they need permission to remove a service, they say - despite the fact that I didn't want the service applied to the website in the first place.
Makoto Oda
Makoto Oda
Re: Network Solutions SSL Certificate Reviews
June 25, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://threebond.com
Organization: threebond

no refunds for mistakes/typos even on same day
Gord
Gord
Certificate not trusted on many devices!!
May 4, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Basic Certificate
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I got the NetworkSolutions Xpress Certificate, for use on my Apache webserver. While it works *okay*, I have two major beefs: 1) The certificate was not trusted by many Android / mobile devices, and even some older web browsers (e.g. IE7 on Windows XP). They claim NetworkSolutions' CA is not a trusted root certificate authority. 2) When I called NetworkSolutions for help with this, they said they don't support Apache. You DON'T SUPPORT APACHE?? I told them multiple times I didn't need help installing the certificate. The certificate and all chains / intermediates are installed fine on my server, the problem is that other CLIENTS don't consider the certificate signing authority to be trusted. Basically, they aren't well known enough. So what this comes down to is that you buy the certificate, but god help you if it doesn't work properly. They throw their hands up in the air and refuse to help. You're completely on your own. What the heck did I pay for? I might as well use a self-signed certificate.
Larry
Larry
Easy to use
July 31, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Wildcard Certificate
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.summitracing.com
Organization: Autosales Inc.

I've moved all of our SSL certificates to Network Solutions. When you read and follow the instructions completely the system is very smooth. The customer support has always been available when I've needed them. I made a mistake with a selection once and was able to speak with customer support to make the needed changes made.
Dan
Dan
Unable to issue a simple certificate
July 17, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Basic Certificate
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

I attempted to purchase an SSL certificate from NS two weeks ago. I went through the validation process, and got an email that my certificate was issued. So far, everything seems fine. However, when I clicked on the link to download the signed cert, there is nothing... only a message stating that validation is still pending. So then I click to resend the validation email, and get "a system error has occurred" from their site. I've called support 9 times, and each time have been told the issue needs to be escalated. One of their support people told me that their system was down. After the escalation I get nothing back; it seems to just go into a black hole. At this point I've given up wasting my time with NS, and will be asking for a refund.

Showing review 1 to 15 of 15