Let's EncryptSSL Certificate Reviews

Let's Encrypt is a non-profit CA run by the Internet Security Research Group (ISRG) to provide automated SSL Certificates. It was launched April 12th, 2016. The CA allows 3-month certificates to be issued using the ACME protocol. They do not issue OV, EV, or Wildcard certificates.

The Let's Encrypt SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Let's Encrypt is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Let's Encrypt customers.

If you want to compare Let's Encrypt SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Let's Encrypt, please post a Let's Encrypt SSL review to let others know what to expect.

5 (9 Total Reviews)

Let's Encrypt SSL Certificates

Let's Encrypt Reviews

Showing review 1 to 20 of 9

Simon
Simon
Free and Simple
October 5, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://certbot.eff.org
Organization: multiple

1.Selected HTTPD and OS on website 2. followed 3-step instruction, 3. profit.
Mr Neill Ritchie
Mr Neill Ritchie
This is an awesome SSL option, especially on servers
October 5, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://falkirktownheritagetrail.co.uk/
Organization: Aerial Digital Ltd

If you have a Plesk server interface set LetsEncrypt up as a free module install and you can instantly create SSL on any domain on your server. Takes literally 5 mins per domain after that. Very easy to use. Remember to configure your .htaccess to divert all traffic to https: as well after installing.
Paulo França Lacerda
Paulo França Lacerda
very green, everywhere!
October 4, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://blaisepoint.com
Organization: BlaisePoint Informática

all is very good, only lacking a site seal.
Yousaf
Yousaf
Makes SSL easy!
October 1, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I used its free SSL, just awesome. 100% green secure seal and quick setup. No waiting time.
Shlomo
Shlomo
Free SSL
April 11, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://wpbeagle.com

The free Let's Encrypt SSL certificate is perfect for most small or medium sized websites. These days it's easy to find a reliable hosting company that will install the certificate on your site with just one or two clicks. The certificate only lasts for 90 days, but you can set it up to renew automatically.
Wout Mertens
Wout Mertens
The new standard
March 20, 2018 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

If you don't require EV, just use Let's Encrypt and set up everything to auto-renew automatically.
Spulleboel
Spulleboel
Perfect for non-commercial & commercial start-ups
August 16, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.spulleboel.nl
Organization: De PC Klusjesman

Because privacy & security online is becoming ever more important I wanted to secure my website with a SSL certificate. I had to read the manual and check some examples before I was able to install the certificate. My domain is registered with a third party and my website(s) are on another third party which was making it a bit harder to implement. I am very happy with their free service and I support their filosophy trying to make the internet an as safe environment as possible.
Jesper
Jesper
It's free
February 7, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Probably the only free authority that is actually good. I use it for pretty much all my sites that require ssl. They don't allow domains with a wildcard as subdomain though. I'll need this because I'll be working with lots of subdomains that are automatically changing, Let's Encrypt is probably the way to go even if you have a large website. Unless you want an oddly specific feature like I do.
Pete S.
Pete S.
Fully-automated certificate issuance, installation, and renewal makes things simple.
September 30, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://blog.heypete.com/

Let's Encrypt is a fully-automated CA issuing domain-validated certificates. They take all the hassle out of issuing, deploying, and renewing certificates. Using the "certbot" client from the EFF (other clients exist, but certbot is the reference implementation), I was able to automatically validate ownership of my domain, download the signed certificate, configure Apache to use it, and have everything working in less than 30 seconds. Renewals are easily automated with a cron job. For those who don't run their own server but instead use a hosting provider, many hosting providers support Let's Encrypt and can issue and deploy certificates in the site control panel in seconds.

Showing review 1 to 20 of 9