Comodo SSL Certificate Reviews

Comodo is a privately held group of companies that offers SSL certificate and computer security products. It was founded in 1998 and is headquartered in Jersey City, New Jersey, USA.

The Comodo SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Comodo is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Comodo customers.

If you want to compare Comodo SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Comodo, please post a Comodo SSL review to let others know what to expect.

2.91 (259 Total Reviews)

Comodo Reviews

Showing review 1 to 10 of 259 | Next | Last

Enterprise Customer
Enterprise Customer
Awful customer support
February 9, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Huge waste of time dealing with their EV process. Kept asking for additional documentation without explaining why the completely clear documentation that was already provided was insufficient.
Serdar S.
Serdar S.
FAST & HELPFUL SUPPORT & DELIVERY
February 1, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Positive SSL Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

very helpful and fast support! incredible! we did something wrong but they saw the problem accurately and fast, so after my mail we get our licence in about 10 Minutes! Great!
Rita Newton
Rita Newton
COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME
January 17, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing Certificate
Support: They are okay
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

RIDICULOUSLY COMPLICATED PROCESS!!!!!!!!!! I have revoked my certificate and never want to see this nightmare again. You can't even use Google Chrome with this!!! Only Internet Exploder which sucks at the very best!!!! Complete waste of time, 1.5 hours on live chat to no avail. Support was really good but the product's complicated hoops to jump through leave much to be desired.
Dennis Barker
Dennis Barker
They Have A Lot To Learn
January 13, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://www.bulbworks.com

Comodo's customer service people must be more likely accustomed to dealing with vendor reseller partners than they are with end user customers because they all seem to lack the skill set or patience to explain things carefully and in a manner that a less informed end user can understand. They get a zero in hand holding. My experience with a recent EV SSL renewal was horrendous from start to finish. From their poor explanations of what needed to be done, to the lack of execution - saying things would be done and then having to call back several days later when they weren't - I have nothing positive to say. I remembered the last renewal in 2015 was a train wreck and this renewal in 2017 matched that experience and then some. Sorry I renewed with them.
mahmoud eladawy
mahmoud eladawy
Awesome
January 5, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Positive SSL
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://elafdal.com.sa
Organization: Elafdal Company

Vert excellent and very thanks from my customers !!
Darren Walsh
Darren Walsh
Ridiculous process
November 21, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

The process for authentication was absolutely ridiculous. Way too complicated they relied on unsecure sites to verify my own credentials. I suggest there is some marketing collaboration going on over and above the need for security. My year is up and now I am leaving.
Konstantin
Konstantin
Makes SSL very easy!
November 4, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: EV SSL
Support: I'm not sure
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.lumpos.ru/
Organization: Lumpos

Service is very convenient, the installation took a minimal amount of time. Thank you.
Ali
Ali
It's been 2 Months!!
October 5, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After several days

It's been two freaking months to validate my organization. No one can help me over the phone and I'm just waiting for support emails take forever to respond. I'm ready to move to a new company to get my SSL. Nothing is more expensive than time, big loss.
Pete S.
Pete S.
Simple, inexpensive cert from Comodo reseller (SSLs.com)
September 29, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Positive SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://ecdsa-test.heypete.com/

I purchased my certificate from SSLs.com, a Comodo reseller, at a cost of ~$5/year with a validity period of 1-3 years. These are commodity domain-validated certificates, so there's no sense paying more than necessary. These certificates protect a single hostname, plus "www" prepended to that hostname. For example, a single certificate could protect "example.com" and "www.example.com" or "subdomain.example.com" and "www.subdomain.example.com". The web interface is simple and user-friendly, and one can submit an RSA CSR directly using the self-service interface. Domain validation is quick and easy, and Comodo issues the certificate within a few minutes after validation. Reissuing existing certificates is self-service and follows the same procedure as the original request. One of the major advantages of Comodo's PositiveSSL offering is that one can request ECDSA certificates and have them issued from an all-ECDSA chain (as opposed to an ECDSA certificate issued from an RSA chain). Two things require SSLs.com customer support: 1. Requesting ECDSA certificates. The SSLs.com self-service interface assumes all CSRs are for RSA certificates and refuses to proceed if the public key is less than 2048 bits. ECDSA keys are typically 256 or 384 bits (but have higher security than 2048 bit RSA certificates) and thus the web interface won't let them proceed. SSLs.com has said they'll update their system to better handle ECDSA CSRs in the future, but for now one must send the CSR to the customer service department and they'll manually submit it to Comodo. Once submitted, the validation and issuance procedure is the same. 2. Revoking certificates. Simply reissuing certificates is free and self-service, but if a server's private key is compromised one must ask the customer support to send a revocation request to Comodo. This is hopefully a very rare situation. Overall, my experience with Comodo and SSLs.com has been very positive and I recommend them to anyone who needs simple, domain-validated certificates.
Owen
Owen
Incredibly Fustrating
September 19, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: SSL Premium Wildcard
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Our wild card SSL certificate came up for renewal through our Reseller which we use. After paying for certificate and completing renewal with our reseller 6 days later still no certificate our reseller who on sells Comodo services was left completely in the dark no communication what so ever from Comodo and this to one of there resellers! In the end our reseller offered us an alternative wild card SSL certificate from another Authority. We could not wait any longer so purchased our own from a reputable CA vendor. Took 10 minutes to get our certificate. My recommendation is avoid Comodo go with the trusted CA's.

Showing review 1 to 10 of 259 | Next | Last