StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.4 (0 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing review 1 to 10 of 549 | Next | Last

jw
Cannot be exported with private key
September 16, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

The certificate does not have private key, so can never be exported as what they say in FAQ, waste of time
Arya
Freebies that come with quality
September 7, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Okay.. I have been using StartSSL since it's first inception, when startssl isn't even trusted yet by some major browser. I mostly used StartSSL for personal project.. Free SSL is one thing.. StartSSL support is even more amazing, Just now I lost my authentication cert and I'm quite surprised my query is responded within half and our in Sunday noon, and I'm not even a paid customer. Anyway, StartSSL free SSL program really promotes adoption of SSL technology in significant portion of internet user (mainly hobbyist like me or even small business and community site). Especially after the wake up call from the Snowden incident.. initiatives such as IETF's HTTPS everywhere are definitely helped by the presence of free, and/or also reasonably costed extended validation SSL certificate. All in all I would recommend anyone to use StartSSL, and be part of secure and trusted Internet.
Jeremy H N.
Damn quick support
September 5, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.zebra.fr/reservation-125-en-ligne.html
Organization: Zebra

I'm from France, I manage a few server certificates class 1, free of charge and my visits on StartCom website are (till now) very occasionnal (once or twice per year). There's always a client or server certificate expired or lost and sometimes I'm in need of answers/actions from support. I always got them quick and clear. I'm really glad of it, especially for a free service from abroad, and honestly I'm studying the opportunity to get a class 2 certification for my organization.
Christian Anton
Awesome!
August 31, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.zebra.fr/reservation-125-en-ligne.html

This is really a helpful service. I use startssl certificates for S/Mime and to secure all my private web servers. The best about startCom is the support: the few times when I have screwed up or something didn't work, these guys help you immediately even on sunday evenings. I am really impressed!
Christian Anton
Awesome!
August 31, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://www.zebra.fr/reservation-125-en-ligne.html

This is really a helpful service. I use startssl certificates for S/Mime and to secure all my private web servers. The best about startCom is the support: the few times when I have screwed up or something didn't work, these guys help you immediately even on sunday evenings. I am really impressed!
Skylar Ittner
Works great for a low-budget site
August 30, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://apocalypselabs.net

It's awesome how I can give my users peace-of-mind and security without paying anything. It's services like this that really help the Internet be what it should be: an awesome place where people can trust their data is safe while having fun and doing work.
Skylar Ittner
Works great for a low-budget site
August 30, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://apocalypselabs.net

It's awesome how I can give my users peace-of-mind and security without paying anything. It's services like this that really help the Internet be what it should be: an awesome place where people can trust their data is safe while having fun and doing work.
Jacob
Affordable and Excellent
August 27, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://cwphoto.ca

I am very happy with StartSSL. They were very quick (a few hours) with my personal validation, requiring I only scan a few pieces of ID. The customer service was excellent, with them getting in contact with me to facilitate the process. The certificate works perfectly, I am very happy.
Jacob
Affordable and Excellent
August 27, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://cwphoto.ca

I am very happy with StartSSL. They were very quick (a few hours) with my personal validation, requiring I only scan a few pieces of ID. The customer service was excellent, with them getting in contact with me to facilitate the process. The certificate works perfectly, I am very happy.
John Place
Awesome Support
August 26, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://unixsage.com

In my 20ish years of system administration I have probably used a dozen SSL providers. All the "big names" included. I have been using StartSSL's "free" certs for a couple of years on my personal site. The process is simple and clean. Yes I admit inexpensive :-) The reason I am writing this review is that I wanted to highlight the excellent support I experienced. I had not had the need to use support until recently. I made a mistake and ignored an email and let my personal cert expire locking me out of my account. This was 100% my fault, I cant even blame the spam filter. I tried to hit the management interface and it reported the cert was expired.. I looked through my email history and there it was a message that clearly said I needed to renew it in the next two weeks. So when I realized my mistake I thought to my self this will be a painful process given this is not one of the "big names" and I am using their free service so my expetations were low and I was dreading the process.. So I replied to the original email and quickly received a concise response with what I needed to do. The whole process was done fairly quickly. They sent me email walking me through the process of creating a new account and they merged them and boom I was back in business. They have my vote for my PKI needs..

Showing review 1 to 10 of 549 | Next | Last