StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

To the right, you can view popular websites that use StartCom and see what people are saying about StartCom on Twitter.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.39 (243 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing comments 1 to 10 of 243 | Next | Last
Bobby Walker
Review
After paying to have cert revoked was refused re-issue
Sun April 13, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

I thought I'd found the perfect balance in a CA vendor, affordable and reasonable practices all around in pricing, (yes that includes the revocation fee which isn't that bad). However, after trying to do the right thing and paying to have my certificate revoked in order to not have issues with heartbleed, they refused to issue a new certificate. They had no issues issuing the certificate 2 months ago but refuse now. This left me in a bind as my production website had a revoked certificate on it and they became unresponsive. I was forced to seek out an alternate CA. I do not currently see myself renewing my Class 2 when it expires as my trust has been broken with them.
Simon Iremonger
Review
Unreasonable Policies
Sun April 13, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: No website -- IMAP and SMTPauth servers

Startcom are creating a moral hazard by explicitly charging for _revoking_ certificates (paid or not). This creates a problem with users not revoking certs and just issuing them elsewhere or changing server name, leaving certificate 'un-revoked', allowing for MITM attacks.
Dave
Review
5 stars isn't enough
Fri April 11, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Simple to use, quick responses. I've read a few other reviews that said the website was confusing or hard to use. I don't think that at all. I found the entire process quick and easy. Much better than Godaddy or Networks solutions!!!!
Jacob
Review
Affordable but process can be confusing
Sat April 05, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After several days

I definitely felt like StartCom had the best value for what I was receiving, but I feel their verification process is in desperate need of updates.

The only way for them to rapidly verify my address (apparently a needed step in verifying my identity), is for me to send them a copy of a phone bill that has both my phone number and address on it. It's not possible for me to produce such a document, so I have had to wait more than 2 weeks for something to arrive in the mail! This is an increasingly digital world, and there are so many ways I could've digitally verified my address. The company's reliance on mail is outdated and a huge hassle.
Oliver Renz
Review
Great response times
Mon March 31, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Very fast Response times, but for newbees sometimes a bit confusing. The Website / FAQ could be structured a little better, so beginners doesnt have to write the same questions all the time. Dont get me wrong, they always helped me, but they could save These email roundtrips in making the Website a bit more intuitive or by Publishing a word document with a step by step explanation of the overall process. Anyway I dont think others are much better, and they are quite inexpensive. Great Company !
Victor Raff
Review
great for wildcard
Tue March 25, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://raffsoftware.com
Organization: Raff Software s.r.o.

I am dealing with StartSSL for several years already. They have absolutely the best price for wildcard certificates, so I do those with them as well. However if you need an ordinary certificate there are better option - I use another company for that. Also it takes time to figure out how StartSSL system works - it's not intuitive at all and requires a lot of steps, however their support is absolutely superb, so don't worry - they will help you with everything quickly and professionally.
Lê Hòa
Review
Re: StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews
Wed March 19, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a day
Website: http://www.kinhnghiemmua.com
Organization: private

The amount of corrspondence I've have with StartCom has given them a very friendly and helpful image that is extremely hard to find in many places on the internet. Always responding to my emails the same day, they are extremely helpful and always gotten the job done. Would highly recommend.
Jonathan Juursema
Review
The must-go certificate authority for advanced users.
Mon March 17, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://www.jonathanj.nl/
Organization: Jonathan Juursema

It takes some learning to get to know how this company works. However, their support is lightning fast (they work in weekends, around midnight and call you at 2AM if necessary) and their prices unbeatable. Their certificates are widely trusted and I would only recommend StartCom to go to for SSL certificates. In my experience, they cost at max half of those sold by competitors.
Florian Meister
Review
BEST SERVICE EVER
Sat March 15, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Organization: N/A

Used STARTCOM SSL Certificates for some private Services like Home Automation - works like a charm and is recognised by all major browsers.

A few weeks ago I got notifications about certificates which expire soon - I was too lazy to renew them and so my Client Certificate for logging into the Control Panel of Startcom expired too (I've totally overseen that this cert has expired too).

The Startcom support was awesome in getting my account re-enabled. In about an hour after complaining via email everything was up and running again - awesome. Best support ever :)
Mark E. Wilt
Review
Very nice if you know what you're doing
Fri March 14, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://www.markwilt.org
Organization: markwilt.org

Compared to other highly-commercialized sites (e.g., GoDaddy, easyDNS), Startcom's web interface is somewhat minimalistic. It was also initially a concern having to offer up personal id verification online, in order to gain validation for Class2 cert(s) (especially since there was little information outlining this requirement online).
But the overall cost can't be beat. And they offer DNS services to boot! Incredible value for the $ outlay.
Showing comments 1 to 10 of 243 | Next | Last

notepad Write a Review of StartCom

Please take a moment to share your knowledge about StartCom so that others can make the best educated decision when choosing which certificate authority to purchase from. Please make your review as detailed as possible. Read our review guidelines for more information. All fields are required (unless noted as optional).

You are not logged in. You can log in now, create an account, or fill out the form below to submit a review as an unregistered user.

Please use the review box to explain the responses you've given above. It's perfectly fine to be unsatisfied with a provider, but make sure you describe this to the other members of our website in a professional manner.
If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.
Enter anti-spam code shown above: