StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

To the right, you can view popular websites that use StartCom and see what people are saying about StartCom on Twitter.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.39 (269 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing comments 1 to 10 of 269 | Next | Last
Ian Carroll
Review
Great CA; Interface needs work
Mon August 18, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://ian.sh
Organization: Ian Carroll

StartCom is a great CA. Had no problems verifying, but they should mention a phone or utility bill is needed. UI needs work.
private
Review
Re: StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews
Mon August 18, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

loved the service
its fast and [b]free[/b]
John
Review
Other CAs should follow their lead
Tue August 12, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

We got the Class 2 Identity/Organization Validation. I can tell you from going though Versign and Thawte, Startcom is more thorough when validating your organization and identity. It took a little while to get all the information provided to them but after that they use their own validation and 3rd party validation services to prove all information provided was valid.

It is well worth it, you pay about $120/year for unlimited certificates including wildcards. That is $360 over 3 years. Some complain about the revocation fee, around $30. Even if you had to revocate 10,20 certificates you will still be saving a ton of money compared to others.
Hartwig Schieck
Review
There's no excuse not to use HTTPS anymore
Tue August 12, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I never thought that requesting/installing the certificate and starting a website using HTTPS can be so easy. The certificate is really free of charge and works flawlessly without any warnings whatsoever in any browser I tried.

Neither costs nor complexity can be an excuse for not using HTTPS anymore. I'm very satisfied.
Jörg Schulz
Review
Everything you need as private person - and that for free
Fri August 08, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

The website, the corresponding forum howTo's and general knowledge make it fairly easy to set up secure communication using StartCom.
HelpDesk is answering rocketfast, but because all documentation is available elsewhere, they should have an easy job.
Marvellous!
Brian
Review
Works fine ... lasts a long time ...
Thu August 07, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Organization: iPortalWare, Inc

And if you break it, Eddy and Yael will help fix it. My hats off to StartCom staff for they bailed out my fat thumbs. Even on the free license, the staff responded quickly. You get the feeling they may even like their job. I am glad someone likes there job.
Yu Fan
Review
that was awesome
Sat August 02, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Organization: www.homenode.ca

Great real free SSL certificate which is recognized by most browsers. You don't have to install the root CA certificate and it makes SSL easy!

And also they respond for customers very quickly. I just had a email conversion with them for my lost certificate and I got everything fixed in a very short time.
Sam
Review
No support
Fri August 01, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Code Signing
Support: They are inadequate. Very unresponsive.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After several days

You must pay for support :-(
Interface is not very responsive , french version is uncomplete.
I don't have my private key for code signing => ssl certificate don't work ; no support....

Cheap, realy cheap but no services...
Charlie Mordant
Review
The bests, DOT
Sun July 20, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://*.osgiliath.net
Organization: Osgiliath

StartSSL men are very responsive, 7/7. You can also discuss with them, even joke and they're really listening to you.
Their offer is the best on the market, and in the very last need their here to advise you.

Keep up the good work StartSSL, you're the bests!
Tim Cooper
Review
Certificate wasn't trusted by our customer organisations
Thu July 03, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://web.edval.com.au
Organization: Edval Timetables

We sell software to secondary schools, primarily in Australia. Unfortunately, we had a very stressful 2 weeks with half our customers being unable to use our software after installing the new certificate. Our previous certificate from DigiCert was not EV, but at least it worked. The problems cleared up as soon as we installed a DigiCert certificate. I've tried to investigate further but without success. Our customers use a government proxy server. Customer browsers were okay but not our Windows native app.

Also, everything about the company seemed dodgy - pages that timed out and surly customer service, although they did respond okay to support requests when our sys-admin had difficulty installing the certificate - overnight replies, not exactly comprehensive replies.
Showing comments 1 to 10 of 269 | Next | Last

notepad Write a Review of StartCom

Please take a moment to share your knowledge about StartCom so that others can make the best educated decision when choosing which certificate authority to purchase from. Please make your review as detailed as possible. Read our review guidelines for more information. All fields are required (unless noted as optional).

You are not logged in. You can log in now, create an account, or fill out the form below to submit a review as an unregistered user.

Please use the review box to explain the responses you've given above. It's perfectly fine to be unsatisfied with a provider, but make sure you describe this to the other members of our website in a professional manner.
If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.
Enter anti-spam code shown above: