StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

To the right, you can view popular websites that use StartCom and see what people are saying about StartCom on Twitter.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.4 (274 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing comments 1 to 10 of 274 | Next | Last
Christian Anton
Review
Awesome!
Sun August 31, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

This is really a helpful service. I use startssl certificates for S/Mime and to secure all my private web servers.
The best about startCom is the support: the few times when I have screwed up or something didn't work, these guys help you immediately even on sunday evenings. I am really impressed!
Skylar Ittner
Review
Works great for a low-budget site
Sat August 30, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: https://apocalypselabs.net

It's awesome how I can give my users peace-of-mind and security without paying anything. It's services like this that really help the Internet be what it should be: an awesome place where people can trust their data is safe while having fun and doing work.
Jacob
Review
Affordable and Excellent
Wed August 27, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://cwphoto.ca

I am very happy with StartSSL. They were very quick (a few hours) with my personal validation, requiring I only scan a few pieces of ID. The customer service was excellent, with them getting in contact with me to facilitate the process. The certificate works perfectly, I am very happy.
John Place
Review
Awesome Support
Tue August 26, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: https://unixsage.com

In my 20ish years of system administration I have probably used a dozen SSL providers. All the "big names" included. I have been using StartSSL's "free" certs for a couple of years on my personal site. The process is simple and clean. Yes I admit inexpensive :-)

The reason I am writing this review is that I wanted to highlight the excellent support I experienced. I had not had the need to use support until recently. I made a mistake and ignored an email and let my personal cert expire locking me out of my account. This was 100% my fault, I cant even blame the spam filter.

I tried to hit the management interface and it reported the cert was expired.. I looked through my email history and there it was a message that clearly said I needed to renew it in the next two weeks.

So when I realized my mistake I thought to my self this will be a painful process given this is not one of the "big names" and I am using their free service so my expetations were low and I was dreading the process..

So I replied to the original email and quickly received a concise response with what I needed to do. The whole process was done fairly quickly. They sent me email walking me through the process of creating a new account and they merged them and boom I was back in business.

They have my vote for my PKI needs..
Philip S. Hempel
Review
The best SSL certificate provider around!
Thu August 21, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Organization Multiple Domains
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Organization: Indigo BiosSystems

I have been using StartCom SSL for about 2 years and was amazed at what you can do for your business with SSL certs from StartCom. If I need an internal SSl or an external SSL cert. I just go in and 1, 2 , 3 create one. I have a cert in seconds. My cost is only what it takes to keep my verification up to date each year! If I need higher certified cert it is only a one time cost each year! I save thousands of dollars and time because of StartCom SSL!
Ian Carroll
Review
Great CA; Interface needs work
Mon August 18, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: https://ian.sh
Organization: Ian Carroll

StartCom is a great CA. Had no problems verifying, but they should mention a phone or utility bill is needed. UI needs work.
private
Review
Re: StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews
Mon August 18, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

loved the service
its fast and [b]free[/b]
John
Review
Other CAs should follow their lead
Tue August 12, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

We got the Class 2 Identity/Organization Validation. I can tell you from going though Versign and Thawte, Startcom is more thorough when validating your organization and identity. It took a little while to get all the information provided to them but after that they use their own validation and 3rd party validation services to prove all information provided was valid.

It is well worth it, you pay about $120/year for unlimited certificates including wildcards. That is $360 over 3 years. Some complain about the revocation fee, around $30. Even if you had to revocate 10,20 certificates you will still be saving a ton of money compared to others.
Hartwig Schieck
Review
There's no excuse not to use HTTPS anymore
Tue August 12, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: I'm not sure. I've never needed support.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

I never thought that requesting/installing the certificate and starting a website using HTTPS can be so easy. The certificate is really free of charge and works flawlessly without any warnings whatsoever in any browser I tried.

Neither costs nor complexity can be an excuse for not using HTTPS anymore. I'm very satisfied.
Jörg Schulz
Review
Everything you need as private person - and that for free
Fri August 08, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

The website, the corresponding forum howTo's and general knowledge make it fairly easy to set up secure communication using StartCom.
HelpDesk is answering rocketfast, but because all documentation is available elsewhere, they should have an easy job.
Marvellous!
Showing comments 1 to 10 of 274 | Next | Last

notepad Write a Review of StartCom

Please take a moment to share your knowledge about StartCom so that others can make the best educated decision when choosing which certificate authority to purchase from. Please make your review as detailed as possible. Read our review guidelines for more information. All fields are required (unless noted as optional).

You are not logged in. You can log in now, create an account, or fill out the form below to submit a review as an unregistered user.

Please use the review box to explain the responses you've given above. It's perfectly fine to be unsatisfied with a provider, but make sure you describe this to the other members of our website in a professional manner.
If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.
Enter anti-spam code shown above: