StartCom SSL Certificate Reviews

StartCom is an certificate authority that sells SSL certificates. StartCom was established in 2004, and is headquartered in Eilat, Israel. It is well-known for offering free SSL certificates that are domain-validated and supported in most newer web browsers.

StartCom - Click to visit
Visit StartCom

Popular Sites That Use StartCom SSL Certificates

The StartCom SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether StartCom is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real StartCom customers.

If you want to compare StartCom SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever bought a certificate from StartCom, please post a StartCom SSL review to let others know what to expect.

To the right, you can view popular websites that use StartCom and see what people are saying about StartCom on Twitter.

StartCom's Average Rating
4.39 (261 Total Reviews)

notepad Write A Review!

StartCom SSL Certificates

Compare all StartCom SSL Certificates

Showing comments 1 to 10 of 261 | Next | Last
Charlie Mordant
Review
The bests, DOT
Sun July 20, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Several different products
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://*.osgiliath.net
Organization: Osgiliath

StartSSL men are very responsive, 7/7. You can also discuss with them, even joke and they're really listening to you.
Their offer is the best on the market, and in the very last need their here to advise you.

Keep up the good work StartSSL, you're the bests!
Tim Cooper
Review
Certificate wasn't trusted by our customer organisations
Thu July 03, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Extended Validation
Support: They are okay. Help with any problems but it can take a while.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://web.edval.com.au
Organization: Edval Timetables

We sell software to secondary schools, primarily in Australia. Unfortunately, we had a very stressful 2 weeks with half our customers being unable to use our software after installing the new certificate. Our previous certificate from DigiCert was not EV, but at least it worked. The problems cleared up as soon as we installed a DigiCert certificate. I've tried to investigate further but without success. Our customers use a government proxy server. Customer browsers were okay but not our Windows native app.

Also, everything about the company seemed dodgy - pages that timed out and surly customer service, although they did respond okay to support requests when our sys-admin had difficulty installing the certificate - overnight replies, not exactly comprehensive replies.
Nathan Crawford
Review
Excellent support
Mon June 30, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Their website takes a little getting used to, but once you get used to it, it does exactly what is needed. Support was very fast and helpful when I lost my account credentials due to an SSD failure. Highly recommended!
Sylvain R.
Review
StartSSL Congratulations !
Tue June 24, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Great site to validate my free SSL certificates to secure my small websites. If there is a concern, the support is very highly reactive!

I highly recommend it. Keep it up !

(Sorry for my english, I'm french)
Jonathan Renpening
Review
Really good
Mon June 23, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 2 Verified Organization Wildcard
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: After a day

I made a review before saying that the certificate was not validated by Thunderbird nor OS X, iOS. The problem was within my server and the guys at StartCom were really helpful. I would completely suggest them.
Matthew Stratford
Review
Looks bad, but is amazing!
Sat June 21, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Apon visiting their site for the first time, my first impression was that it looks really old and dodgy, it loads slowly (and still uses images for every last piece of the design). However, I was drawn in by the free SSL and wanted to give it a try.

It was amazing, support was fast at answering my questions. Great!

All I must say is, StartSSL, get a new website!
AlexGluck
Review
Makes SSL easy and free!
Fri June 20, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

Incredibly fast service, all perfectly simple, fast, reliable, high quality I'm shocked by the fact that it happens. I am from Russia. Only one problem, while register the site interface is running slow. awesome
Starbeamrainbowlabs
Review
Great support
Mon June 16, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

Great support service, fixed any problems I had quickly and easily.

Even though my account was held up for review, the review process was also quick and I got access to my account in under an hour.
Alekz
Review
Good so far
Thu June 12, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: A little confusing but easy enough after I figured it out.
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

SSL Certificates from StartCom are good and almost all devices which I use accept them without giving a warning. This is particularly good, because it's free!

I'm convinced I'll stay with them for a longer time and maybe upgrade to the Level 2 certificates (for Wildcard functionality).

So in the end, I strongly recommend StartCom to everyone, who is looking for a good way to start with securing a website or admin panel. For bigger web projects or those where sensitive information are stored, I would use at least a Level 2 Certificate which is much more supported.

And to clear my rating. I would have given them a rating of five, if they had given out new certificates for free when the heartbleed scandal was going around. But they didn't and people had to buy a new certificate while other certification authorities offered it for free.
Olivier
Review
Excellent customer support
Wed June 11, 2014
Overall Rating:
Product Purchased: Class 1 Free
Support: They are excellent! Very helpful and responsive and fix problems easily.
Interface: Very easy. I just do everything myself from their easy to use web site.
Issuance Speed: Immediately

I've been using StartCom certificate since 2009.
It always worked like a charm.
This year, I've lost my client certificate and, thus, was unable to sign in on the site.
The customer service has been incredibly responsive : they have issued a new certificate and merged my accounts in a jiffy !
Many thanks to Yael and Eddy !
Showing comments 1 to 10 of 261 | Next | Last

notepad Write a Review of StartCom

Please take a moment to share your knowledge about StartCom so that others can make the best educated decision when choosing which certificate authority to purchase from. Please make your review as detailed as possible. Read our review guidelines for more information. All fields are required (unless noted as optional).

You are not logged in. You can log in now, create an account, or fill out the form below to submit a review as an unregistered user.

Please use the review box to explain the responses you've given above. It's perfectly fine to be unsatisfied with a provider, but make sure you describe this to the other members of our website in a professional manner.
If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.
Enter anti-spam code shown above: