Trustwave SSL Certificate Reviews

TrustWave is a certificate authority that offers SSL certificate and computer security products. It was founded in 1995 and is headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

The Trustwave SSL certificate reviews listed below will help you determine whether Trustwave is a good company to buy SSL certificates from. The reviews have been verified to be from real Trustwave customers.

If you want to compare Trustwave SSL certificates with certificates from other SSL providers, use our SSL Wizard. If you have ever purchased or received a certificate from Trustwave, please post a Trustwave SSL review to let others know what to expect.

2.69 (36 Total Reviews)

Trustwave Reviews

Showing review 1 to 36 of 36

Jim Bridges
Jim Bridges
Terrible Service
July 26, 2017 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

We used Trustwave for years for Managed Security services related to PCI. Besides poor service, when we left they immediately came after us for months of service we never received - in a very aggressive fashion. When we tired to talk to someone no one would return our calls. Finally we paid based on a settlement agreement and then they had the nerve to give us a new invoice a few months later! Despite my written evidence from them they still aggressively pursued us all for services we never received. Stay away - poor products, bad service, and bad attitude.rank
Geary
Geary
worthless
September 22, 2016 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Other
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

total BS , what customer service , there is none ! can not log on , continually told businness is not recognized ! Trsut Wave SUCKS ! Speed rating of several days is not corrrect , never got it . Try rating them you will see.
Mike Strain
Mike Strain
Can't renew using there site but they charged my card three times.
November 3, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour
Website: http://automoxie.com

I was sent notifications by trustwave my certificate was about to expire. I went to their site and renewed. After supplying my credit card, I was given an error code and a customer support number to call. The support was unable to find the transaction and had me try two more time unsuccessfully. The next day I saw three transactions from Trustwave for $178 each on my bank statement. I called customer support back and was told I needed to call the third party provider that I used to purchase the certificate even after I told them I used their website to renew. I'm now having my bank dispute the charges and I'm going to another company for my SSL certificate.
The Bees Company
The Bees Company
Trustwave is the WORST EVER
September 16, 2015 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Since Trustwave was bought few years ago, their customer support is the WORST EVER. They don't know anything they are talking about, and they don't solve any problem you call them with. Totally waste of time and a ton of frustration along the way. Buy somewhere else.
Ludovic Francis
Ludovic Francis
buggy ssl
November 25, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours
Website: http://www.ecocolors.net
Organization: ecocolors

ssl was not setup right and expired in the middle of the subscription. It is extremely bad for business. Not the 1rst time I am having problems with trustwave either.
Geoff
Geoff
Far too hard
May 6, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://mongrel-phones.com.au

I answered "after several days" above only because there was not a longer option. I had purchased a EV SSL from Trustwave - but eventually gave up. The process was drawn out so long that I just got a regular SSL cert. They are unresponsive to emails and basically just keep you in the dark as to where you are up to. As there is only one person in my business - I had to get an accountant to verify me - I'm ok with that. But, days go past with no response - and when you do ring them back again you are still left in the dark as to when things might get finished. I suppose I should have taken their support guys advice "Why do you bother with an EV cert anyway?" - it just demonstrates their attitude I guess. These guys have no consideration for customers and the need for timely service. Don't get me wrong - they are polite and courteous. They'll get things done in their own sweet time thank you. The kicker is, I only went with them because my hosting provider offered a more expensive, but "automated" easier option. I was time constrained so I paid.
Jenn
Jenn
You might as well try digging a hole to China.....
March 15, 2013 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

This was the longest most drawn out worst process to get this completed. I'd NEVER recommend them to a friend. (Maybe an enemy though...)

Extremely slow and bad service
December 1, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium EV SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: A little confusing
Issuance Speed: After several days

I really wanted to like Trustwave: they're independent, and don't have the sleazy high-pressure sales of some other CAs. But their EV ordering process and customer service are just unacceptable. I immediately sent in the vetting paperwork. 7 days later, they had a minor problem confirming my address, which I corrected; 6 days after that, another problem, which I corrected. Another 8 days after that, my cert was "pending issuance:" "it requires two people authorized to issue to be here at the same time, and unfortunately due to scheduling problems they've not been available." Another 8 days after that, it still had not been issued. After another 3 days, they announced a promotion. In order to use it, they said I'd need to send in a new form, and they'd send a message to the person handling my request - implying that he would send me one to fill out. I heard nothing, and after another 8 days, followed up. Their reply: "There is no update unless there is something outside of this thread number. The last communication we sent you stated you would have to submit a new CRF. Please tell us if you have done that." I cancelled the order, and they tried to refuse giving a refund.
Ted
Ted
Trustwave has serious problems
November 19, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Trustwave has serious problems with their PCI compliancy system. They are completely inconsistent and unreliable. They offer simple solutions then do not support the solutions they even provide. If I had a choice I would move to another company, but alas, I can not because of the merchant provider.... I feel like I'm drowning in a sea of ineptitude with no boat in sight... Much less the shore...
Over it!
Over it!
Re: Trustwave SSL Certificate Reviews
October 24, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

They were asked THREE TIMES TO ADD ME as a contact on the account. This took a month of back and forth. When issuing a support ticket, they takes days to answer and then just kind of space out on you until you ask them again "What is going on with this ticket?". At this point you wait days for a response.
William
William
Not worth even to look at it
August 27, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days
Website: http://rocousa.com

Expensive, no support, no idea what they are doing there. Many errors and hard to install if you don't know how. Pushy renewal process trying to get it and sell you more than what you need.
Alec
Alec
Great provider for resellers.
May 8, 2012 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL Wildcard
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Less than an hour

This is a great provider for resellers. Was using other providers and have consolidated everything onto this. Only Gotcha we've run into is that their root authority isn't recognized by older Android or iPhone devices. But outside of that their web interface and turn around times have been repeatedly exceptional.
Ronald Crouse
Ronald Crouse
Impossible to Renew
December 29, 2011 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After several days

Had their Premium SSL for three years. Received several emails advising me that the certificate was about to expire. When I tried to renew using links provided, I got server error messages. Customer support would not address the server issues I encountered and suggested applying for a new certificate instead of renewing. Trustwave did not care if I remained a customer or not so I switched to Digicert.
Absolutely Disgraceful support
Absolutely Disgraceful support
Hopeless Support
June 1, 2011 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After several days

Went for Verisign to Trustwave as it was the cheaper alternative, NEVER AGAIN. Support is poor for international clients, they don't respond to email after email. Their skills are very limited and they only choose to help you on what they know and ignore the rest. After awaiting 1.5 weeks for my EV SSL Cert (I already have another EV cert with them) I called them up to ask for an update. They assured me it was in the last stages of validation. Next day I get an invoice from Singapore for outstanding invoices. I told them I paid it 3 months ago. It took them a day to validate it from Trustwave America and they reply back with "oh, we have received the payments". Im still stuck with no EV, most pathetic place ever. I will be revoking all certs and demanding a refund once I find a new supplier
lloyd
lloyd
worked through a bump or two! happy customer
May 20, 2010 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Code Signing
Support: They are okay
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

After submitting all "required" information, I didn't hear anything for a whole day. Code signing certs have different rules than simple SSL certs, but when I called them they were responsive and got me set up almost immediately. I think the fact that they verified all my info is a good thing, it protects the entire process and ultimate product. I think other providers just issue certs haphazardly and that destroys their effectiveness.
Ronald Shackelford
Ronald Shackelford
making my clients sites secure
May 14, 2010 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Several different products
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

Support at trustwave were responsive, easy to understand and polite. At other companies, they just did not have time to explain anything and you end up wasting time just trying to run them down.
Buck Utee
Buck Utee
not worth it
April 8, 2010 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a day

They have you install it, and do all the work, then on top of this they seal doesn't always display when clicked on, has troubles with flash. These guys are jerks, DON'T TAKE THE CHEAP WAY OUT.
Rudy Morel
Rudy Morel
Good Staff
January 19, 2010 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://www.wallyball.com
Organization: American Wallyball

I am new to this but your staff was great very patience with me. Thanks very mush.
Brian
Brian
Trustwave is a joke, non-US merchants beware.
November 28, 2009 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are inadequate
Interface: Difficult to use
Issuance Speed: After a few hours

If you are not based in the U.S., do not use Trustwave! Trustwave claims to represent "thousands" of international clients, but Trustwave will ask you to fax bank account info and sensitive corporate documents that no other SSL provider on the planet would ask for. You'll spend a week just jumping through Trustwave's hoops. And what does Trustwave do to gain YOUR trust? Trustwave stops responding when you decide to cancel and ask for a refund. GeoTrust verified me by phone and my new SSL certificate was installed within 6 hours. Unlike Trustwave, GeoTrust is a smooth, professional and truly international operation. I highly recommend them to any online merchant.
Lenore
Lenore
Customer Service is THE BEST.
November 2, 2009 Permalink
Overall Rating:
Product: Premium SSL
Support: They are excellent!
Interface: Very easy
Issuance Speed: Immediately
Website: http://worldkidspress.com
Organization: worldkids press

Had problems with my site name and the SSL Cert, and customer service was fantastic in resolving the problem. Very very professional and knowledgable. Thank you Trustwave.com. And special thanks to Ryan for his expertise and patience until the situation was resolved. I am a completely happy customer.

Showing review 1 to 36 of 36